Gurkaran Buxi's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 42% response rate
  • Last login about 7 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gurkaran’s full profile.

Overview

  • 39 references 32 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Hindi
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Currently a researcher (nerdy nerdy!)
  • PhD in Engineering
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Folks, I am thinking of driving from NYC to San Francisco the last week of September. Potential cities to visit Pittsburg, West Baden Springs Indiana (A beautiful SPA!), Kansas City, Colorado Spring, Arches National Park, Las Vegas, Reno, San Francisco. If interested in traveling a part of the trip let me know. I've already paid for the hotels etc.

----------------------
I think the world is shrinking and people should travel to understand different cultures and peoples perspective. CS offers a unique forum to meet interesting travels and hear their perspective.

I had the opportunity to live in 3 different continents growing up and that gave me an understanding to different cultures. One of my favorite things is to take fellow travelers for a run in SF and show them my city. I am also a huge art fan- Miro and Escher are my favorites.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

SF is an expensive city, we all know it. I was a student once and I know its expensive to travel. I had friends and family who let me crash in their house and this is my way to pay it forward. If it appears that the request is a generic request I am probably not going to respond. Please mention the word Pluto in your message if you want me to respond.
Also my place is not a hotel which means that I do want to hangout with my guests. I don't want the interaction to be a quick dinner or seeing you before I leave for work for 10mins. Ideal guests would explore SF during the day but should plan to hangout in the evening.

Interests

I am primarily a researcher in Statistics. I love reading about the history of the world.

Music, Movies, and Books

My all time favorite is Pink Floyd!

At the moment, I am enjoying The Sympathizer. My favorite book has to be 1984.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Swam in the barrier reef in Australia

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you math and statistics

What I Can Share with Hosts

It's a comfortable couch. I have bedding and towels you just need to show up with fantastic attitude.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Belgium, Bhutan, Brazil, Canada, England, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, India, Italy, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Thailand

Countries I’ve Lived In

India, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Gurkaran’s full profile.

My Groups