Gweir Glewwe's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Accepting Guests

  • 80% response rate
  • Last login 23 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gweir’s full profile.

Overview

  • 59 references 55 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Japanese; learning French
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • I do VR stuff and teach and play the harp sometimes
  • University of Minnesota; B.S. Biology, B.A. Theatre Arts
  • From USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Minnesota native currently living in south Minneapolis with my boyfriend and one roommate. I love to talk about travel, music (I play the harp and am learning the banjo), history, science, and anything nerdy, and I love to learn from the passions and interests of others. Meeting new people on Couchsurfing has been one of my greatest pleasures the last few years, both as a host and a traveler. Even if we can't interact much, making connections and helping make travel stories happen is an absolute joy.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Meeting so many different people through hosting has been wonderful, and I hope to meet many more while traveling! I love just walking around town and learning about a place more than visiting major sights (though the sights are fun too), and spending time with local residents is an amazing way to get to know an area. More than that, meeting and talking with as many different kinds of people as possible is a great way to grow as a person, and being a part of this community has helped that in so many ways. Making travel more affordable so we can all do it more isn't bad either!

Interests

  • theater
  • video games
  • board games
  • hiking
  • history
  • nature
  • science and technology
  • fantasy literature

Music, Movies, and Books

Future bass, jazz, country, chiptune, David Eddings, Terry Pratchett, Makoto Shinkai, Hiroyuki Imaishi. I'm a sucker for fantasy novels and play a lot of board games. I always appreciate book recommendations, I'm terrible at finding new things on my own.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hitchhiked around Japan for two months in 2017. The generosity of people there was amazing, and I got to see more of the country in those months than the two years I was working there.

Teach, Learn, Share

I love learning languages, and I'm happy to share what I know. Cooking for other people and eating what they cook is the absolute best, and I love to show people around my area.

What I Can Share with Hosts

A willing ear, an open mind, and a love of learning! I also love to talk about Japan, culture, history, politics, geek stuff, and anything else. No conversation no life!

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Canada, France, Iceland, Ireland, Japan, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Japan, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Gweir’s full profile.