Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gwenna’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 14 References 11 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, German; learning Breton, Russian, Spanish, Swedish
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Go to the lab, spend time with friends, bake, walk in the...
  • I am currently doing a PhD in biology and have studied in...
  • From Rennes, Brittany, France
  • Profile 55% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Learn about the demographic history of African human populations (and discover Uppsala, Sweden!).

ABOUT ME

I've a very enquiring mind and love to learn new things, particulary about people, the way they live etc.
I love to learn new languages and, of course, to travel.
When I have any time I read, write, draw, meet friends, go to the cinema, and do many other things.
I'm a bit shy but really love to discover new things.

PHILOSOPHY

I would like to do not waste the time I have, to find the job I really enjoy, and to be able to do that, what I like : painting, drawing, reading, and of course, travelling !

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I started using CS eight years ago (!), when I spent two months in Argentina. I had really nice experiences when meeting people abroad and welcoming others in my city or in my house. It really helps a lot to meet "locals" and it is always interesting to show people around familiar places. My sister and my mum also couchsurfed with me once :-)
I have been inactive for some time but I will try to be more active, maybe look for some CS activities next to where I'm living now.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've been hosted in South America, Spain and Russia, and it was really nice. My sister and mother were also hosted with me (a few time) and enjoyed it too.
We also received some couchsurfers, and had a great time with them.

Interests

I have a lot of interests. Professionally speaking, my main interest is evolutionary biology, though other scientific fields interest me a lot, like ethnology.
I love languages, and learning languages.
I like literature, arts, going to museums and gather ideas of beautiful things.
I'm interested in the problems that we as a species will face and try to learn about different ways of life, in western countries and elsewhere.
I'm interested in old photographs, in taking pictures, in lots of pictorial techniques.
I love to walk in the nature and recently I started to do a lot of yoga.

  • arts
  • literature
  • baking
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • knitting
  • painting
  • drawing
  • biology
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

My current favourite author is Ken Follett. Some of the books I enjoyed most are classical russian books. But I read a bit of everything (except horror books).
I also have a broad taste regarding music, depending on whether I want to listen or just to have some musical background, if I'm on the mood of singing, if I want to focus on what is said or not...
I always welcome advices, for books and music!

Teach, Learn, Share

I would be really happy to tell you about evolutionary biology, because it's the thing I spend most of my time with, and it always leads to interesting discussion. I can also teach you a bit of different languages (including the language of Brittany/Bretagne, should you be interested). I can also teach you a number of things like knitting (socks among others ;-) ), sewing (but only the basics!), baking cakes (an essential skill!).
I would like to learn all what I can!
I can share my experiences of living in different countries, and my everyday life right now in Uppsala. And I would like to learn about your lives.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Bolivia, Canada, Ecuador, Iceland, Lithuania, Mali, Peru, Puerto Rico, Russian Federation, Spain, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Germany, Sweden

Join Couchsurfing to see Gwenna’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups