Logo orange

Heather Pottinger

Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wuerttemberg, Germany

Not Accepting Guests

Last login almost 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Heather's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 6 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning French, German, Russian, Spanish
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • learning
  • Life! Supplemented by university
  • From Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
  • Profile 50% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

balancing my love of yoga and global environmental governance studies

ABOUT ME

I love to learn and pass on knowledge, and am very inquisitive.

I teach sailing, and will soon complete my yoga teacher training. I have studied in Canada and Germany, and will in the next year or two complete my undergrad in International Relations and German. After this I plan to complete a master in Global Environmental Governance, and work to change the way environmental policy is presented.

Music has always had a special place in my heart, I have taught basic music theory, and play flute and clarinet when I can.

As I became involved in yoga, I gained an awareness of what I eat. I have been vegetarian for many years, but recently my diet is closer to vegan, and I have become very interested in the raw food life style.

I have had an amazing time traveling in Europe, and want to continue the experience!

PHILOSOPHY

I live my life to experience new things, and deepen my understanding of the places I live in and the people I spend time with. I'm always up to try something new, and will relentlessly pursue a passion (such as yoga).

I love having engaging conversations, and discovering new lights to see the world in. Most of all, I love finding and creating joy in everything I do.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Right now I am traveling and learning my way around the CS world.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

A friend of mine traveled for months through Europe using couch surfing. After I stayed with her and her host in both Venice and Vienna, I decided to create a profile!

Interests

Yoga, sailing, music, culture, snowboarding, surfing, sculpture, Hundertwasser, teaching, dance, environmental policy, love, windsurfing, current events, knitting, clean living, language, people

Music, Movies & Books

Music: Is amazing in all its forms. I am generally appreciative of all music, and particularly like dancing to drum and bass/dub step types.

Movies: I never realized the power of movies until about 4 years ago I stopped owning a tv. I enjoy all, from the documentaries, to political espionage, to romantic comedies. Movies are an indulgence, especially when I'm at Uni :)

Books: I love learning to read in foreign languages. Right now, its German. This way I can read my non essential fantasy books in German, and my necessary uni reading in English! Although when I want a distraction, any fiction book will indefinitely hold my interest. To sum it up: I like reading anything legible.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Staying in Bali for my yoga teacher's training course. I had never been south of the equator before, or in Asia. I loved the new culture and every moment of my experience there. Between the yoga, the amazing people, and the exploring, it was a truly unforgettable month.

Teach, Learn, Share

I would love to share yoga! I am working on becoming yoga teacher, and yoga is a part of my day to day life. Also if where I am at has water and the facilities near by I have been teaching dinghy sailing for five years, and appreciate every chance I get to go on the water and bring people with me. Snowboarding is another passion of mine, and if there is snow, lets go boarding! (or skiing if you prefer) I am also always happy to talk about New Environmental Policy Instruments, which are my current scholarly passion.

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Egypt, Greece, Indonesia

Countries I've Lived In

Canada, Germany

Join Couchsurfing to see Heather's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile