Logo orange

Helena Kangas

Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 5 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Helena's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 24 Positive References
  • Fluent in Finnish; learning English, German, Spanish, Swedish
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • No occupation listed
  • Pro at everything
  • From Espoo
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Space rock & cranberry couscous

ABOUT ME

What I lack in grammar I compensate in double amount of speech.

PHILOSOPHY

"I haven't been there before" is an excellent reason to travel anywhere.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

My couch is available for a nice traveller travelling in Finland or if it's not possible to stay for a night, I'd like to meet over a coffee. I hope that in the future I had a chance to do lots of couchsurfing abroad and/or meet people in local cafeterias.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have both couchsurfed and hosted several times before and I'm looking forward to new experiences!

Interests

Vinyl records. I don't have many of them but if I visit your city, please, tell me where I could find some vinyl records (although I don't have any clear vision how to pack them for an aeroplane so that I wouldn't have only black puzzles when I'm in Finland...)

Food. I'm vegan and even though I'm not an excellent cook, I'm always interested to try a new vegan recipe!

Travelling. I'm sure this doesn't need any explanation.

Literature. I like reading and my interests of genre and author vary time to time, but lately I've become interested in science fiction and poetry.

Art. I was in an art school for twelve years (although it sounds greater than it is or my skills are), so I've painted also a bit, although I haven't drawn a single line for over a year. I'm interested in modern art: installations, performances, surrealism, expressionism... Pretty landscapes on canvas looking like photographs aren't my cup of tea.

Gigs. This year I haven't been on very many gigs, but I keep an eye for certain artists', bands' and bars' gigs (but there are too many of them! Music is robbing all of my money... And still I don't mind it at all)

Languages. I would love to learn Russian, Arabic, Spanish, Hebrew, Estonian, Croatian, Hindi, Portuguese, Greek, Lao, Italian, Czech... (I know I could continue this list on and on)

Collecting stamps. Yes, stamps. Most of the people start and end collecting stamps at age of six, but I have them on the best place in the bookshelf with my vinyl records and cookbooks. I'm sure that my collection is near to "worth-of-nothing" and I would be very lucky to get five euros or more by selling it but I'm still pretty proud that I have stamps from almost all around the world.

Chess. I'm terrible player and if I win, I win just by my skills of randomness. But victory is always victory!

Music, Movies & Books

Music: Hidria Spacefolk, Joose Keskitalo, Maria Gasolina, Litmus, Pink Floyd, Kurki, Jimi Hendrix, Olavi Virta, Kingston Wall, The Doors, Jaakko Laitinen & Väärä Raha, Nat King Cole, Edith Piaf, Deep Purple, Gogol Bordello, Wendy Carlos, Lykke Li, Turid, Kimmo Pohjonen, Buena Vista Social Club, Led Zeppelin, Tapio Rautavaara, Luomuhappo, Paavoharju, Kuusumun Profeetta, Charlie & Esdor, Queen, Baby Grandmothers, Timo Lassy, Janis Joplin, Dizzy Gillespie, Adele, Scandinavian Music Group, Absoluuttinen Nollapiste... Well, I'm getting new favourites all the time.

Books: history & science fiction. Daniil Harms, Franz Kafka, Kurt Vonnegut, Anna Akhmatova, Aldous Huxley...

Movies: Kubrick's "The Shining", Lars von Trier's "Dancer in the Dark", Charlie Chaplin's "The Great Dictator", Kieslowski..

One Amazing Thing I've Done

visited 20 states (8.88%)Create your own visited map of The World or Amsterdam travel guide for Android

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you some ultimate randomness about Finland and Finnish language.

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Belgium, Chile, Cuba, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, India, Ireland, Jamaica, Nepal, Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, Uruguay

Countries I've Lived In

Finland

Join Couchsurfing to see Helena's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile