Michel Haagdorens's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Michel’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 4 References 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, French; learning German
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Scientist
  • medicine
  • From Antwerp (Belgium)
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Survive a PhD!


Currently working as a scientist at the university, with good hopes to ever finish my PhD.

I'm open-minded, social, honest and I always try to be helpful and nice to people. If I feel comfortable, I'm very spontaneous, and you will notice that I have an extreme level of sarcasm (beware ;))

The only thing that can really piss me off is a failed lab experiment..., which unfortunately happens more than is good for me :S

I`m not really a party person. I rather prefer having a nice long chat with someone than discovering the best clubs in town. Of course I do go out sometimes but just not that regularly.
Furthermore, I try to see / do as much as possible in life and I know pretty well what I want in life.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I've heard some good experiences of a few friends and they were really enthusiastic so that's how I did get here.
I Hope to get a couch somewhere in the USA ;) I'm really looking forward to all of the great experiences waiting for me over there. I would love it if some of the CS-people want to show me around in a city and show me the places to be.


Surfed and hosted a few times and it's AWESOME!!!! :D


Love all kind of NEW EXPERIENCES :) I love to get in contact with new cultures, people,... I'm very open-minded and want to see/do and learn as much as possible in this world! :)

- Sports (1/4 triathlon, 1/2 marathon, tennis, squash, kayak,...)
- Sit down with people and having a good time / chat / a drink with friends
- Travelling of course ;)
- Meeting new people

  • chocolate
  • coffee
  • triathlon
  • marathon
  • nightlife
  • partying
  • drinking
  • clubbing
  • traveling
  • kayaking
  • sports
  • tennis
  • racquetball
  • squash

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Thrillers (e.g. wolf creek) and B-movies with a good story and plot.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

A kidney transplantation ... but that probably doesn't count as amazing :)

In Australia: A scenic flight over the Whitsundays and great barrier reef.

Teach, Learn, Share

Those who want to surf at my place or those who want to grab a cup of coffee: I can show you around in Ghent or Antwerp. In those cities I know my way and they have a lot of historical buildings, a lot of good restaurants and café's. P.S. nightlife in Ghent rocks!

As a surfer and host I can teach you some great Belgian chocolate specialities ... if I of course find the real good Belgian stuff ;)

The same thing I'm willing to teach those who visit Belgium. Of course I would love it if some of the CS-people want to show me around in an Australian city.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, France

Join Couchsurfing to see Michel’s full profile. It’s free!