Halel Peleg's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Halel’s full profile.

Overview

  • 17 references 13 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Hebrew (modern); learning German, Spanish
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • Student and Explorer
  • Bachelor's: Geography, and Sociology-Anthropology. Master...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Live life to the fullest and be a positive influence on the world and its inhabitants

ABOUT ME

Shalom, hello!
I'm Halel, an Israeli-American student and traveler. Throughout my life I have moved back and forth between Israel and the United States. Since graduating high school I have lived in Israel, Australia, and the United States. I'm in the middle of doing my master's in urban planning and environmental studies and am doing my last semester abroad in Freiburg, Germany! Unfortunately I cannot host at my dorms but would love to host when I go back to Israel.

I consider myself to be open minded, friendly, polite and inquisitive. I like adventures and being spontaneous (as much as I can with school...).

The subjects of the environment and climate change are very important to me. I try to be as environmentally friendly as I:
*Recycle and composte (if possible) - I strongly dislike non-reusable dishes and silverware.
Conserve electricity and reduce its costs on us and Mother Earth (turning off lights and unplugging appliances when I'm not using them).
Conserve water (though I shower daily)
Buy second hand items

Food and music are two of my many passions in life.

PHILOSOPHY

In process...but generally live life to the fullest.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Why I'm on couchsurfing?
Life is about the experiences you share with others and in my opinion CS is a tool to achieve that. When I go to a new place, I like to immerse myself within its culture. After all, I studied anthropology and geography. I want to walk in the footsteps of the locals, eat the local food, listen to the local music, and learn as much as I can about the place I'm traveling in.

I think I'm am a pleasant and interesting guest because of my different backgrounds and experiences, though anyone can say that. Hopefully you can find out for yourself!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've had great experiences couchsurfing! I am currently living on campus so I'm not able to host any backpackers, but when I live in my own apartment I plan on hosting many couchsurfers.

Interests

Traveling of course! Bouldering and climbing. Music - listening to music and singing to the radio. Swing dancing and musicals. Pretty much anything having to do with the performing arts...Walking, swimming, hiking, and unicycling. Insightful conversations with friends and family. Celebrating holidays. Animals (ones I'm not allergic to). FOOD! Mostly eating but I can cook when I have the energy for it. I enjoy anything sweet really. Languages and learning them with friends. Watching documentaries. Photos and taking them. Mother Earth and and did I already say traveling?

...These are a few of my favorite things

  • animals
  • arts
  • culture
  • singing
  • performing arts
  • documentaries
  • dancing
  • swing dancing
  • environment
  • dining
  • cooking
  • running
  • traveling
  • music
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • anthropology
  • geography
  • languages
  • sociology

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Movie soundtracks, musicals, mainstream, classical, folk, anything by John Williams, The Swell Season, Disney, old Israeli music, popular music on the radio.

Movies: There are too many to write down here so I'll just write my favorite...

TV Shows: Game of Thrones, Shameless, Mad men, Girls, Breaking Bad, The Handmaid's Tale, Insecure, 60 Minutes, Planet Earth and Ninja Warrior.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have road tripped around the two islands of New Zealand and Midwest United States.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach about my cultures, learn from others' experiences, share my opinions and outlook on life, and listen to others.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Kindness, food, experiences, stories and laughs.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, England, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Hong Kong, India, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Kyrgyzstan, Malta, Mexico, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Israel, United States

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Halel’s full profile.

My Groups