Haley Marshall's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 25% response rate
  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Haley’s full profile.

Overview

  • 8 references 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Teacher
  • Some college
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Ralphy and I just bought our first home and are very lucky to have a spare room. We have spent a lot of our time together travelling around the world and got to meet a lot of interesting folks through work away programs and couch surfing. We've found a deeper connection to the places we have visited staying with locals. We got to host a little bit when we lived in Australia and had so much fun showing visitors the hidden gems we had discovered. Ralph and I are pretty laid back and easy going. On our days off we are usually outside either rock climbing, tubing the river, or skinning up our local ski hill, Sunlight. We love cooking and would be keen to learn any new recipes you love.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Getting to stay with locals is the best way to experience a new place and learn more about the community. I've also found that the connections I've made on couch surfing are not only reliable, but also extremely interesting people. I like to be able to travel as much as possible and couch surfing makes it easy and affordable with the added benefit of getting to meet new people. It's also great having the opportunity to help others out.

Interests

Anything outdoors, (climbing, dirt biking, canyoning, hiking, camping, getting on the river) reading, movies. We are both adventure seekers and love getting out and meeting new people. We actually met through an adventure company! Ralphie was an ATV guide and I was a rookie raft guide. Together we have been able to go dirtbiking rafting, hiking, mountain climbing and traveling.

Music, Movies, and Books

So far as books go, classics are usually the first choice. Right now we are reading Sherlock Holmes and On the Road. I have a massive library and am constantly looking for new books to read, so if you have any interest in books I would love to expand my list. Music-wise I'm definately very diverse. I love the Beatles, Celtic pub music, some country, and classical music. We are both drawn to comedy in movies, I do not like horror at all.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

For Haley: the most amazing thing I have ever done was my trip to Italy. I have studied ancient Roman culture since I was in elementary school and have been teaching Latin for the past 3 years. To be able to visit the Colluseam, Venice and Pompeii was like stepping back in time. So much history and culture packed into these incredible cities almost made me cry. It's one thing to study a culture, but another thing entirely to walk down its roads.

For Ralphie: Getting to visit the Great wall of China was a lifelong dream. I would definitely go back.

Teach, Learn, Share

Both of us are lifelong learners. Ralphie has recently been learning about canyoning and we have been lucky enough to get to lead a few expeditions though the canyons of Utah.

I am a Latin teacher and am constantly researching different interests. Right now I've been looking up the history of New Zealand. We both love learning new skills and ways to better ourselves.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Well, we've got a lot of stories and jokes. We can give you a great company and good laughs. We also really enjoy showing people around our own hometown in Colorado so if we keep in touch we'd love to reciprocate if you find yourself in our neck of the woods. We are both very clean, organized people. We love to cook and might be able to help with dinner.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Belize, Bolivia, Cambodia, Canada, Cuba, Ecuador, England, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, India, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Laos, Mexico, Nepal, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Poland, Puerto Rico, Scotland, Spain, Thailand, Turkey, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, New Zealand, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Haley’s full profile.