Logo orange

HannaH

United Kingdom

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see HannaH's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 53 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Portuguese, Spanish; learning French, Italian
  • 24, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Year Abroad from studying (Spanish a...
  • Cambridge University
  • From London
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To become Spanish and walk on my hands

ABOUT ME

A Londoner until I was 18... then it all began!

I have since travelled around South America, lived in Brazil and Spain and am travelling around south east Asia.

I graduated in June 2014 and studied Spanish and Portuguese at Cambridge university, UK (see a pattern emerging?!)

I love languages and communicating; I speak about five (more or less).

I make cocktails, especially mojitos, caipiroskas, daiquiris... and making stuff up as I go along

Going out, dancing whether in clubs, bars or in the living room with a bottle of wine.

Doing yoga in the morning and lots of Capoeira. I try to find a group to train with when I travel, it's like having an extended family across the world.

I play classical guitar, don't watch much TV, read a lot, like to cook...

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

When I have a place, you'll be welcome to my couch! But for now, I'm traveling and looking forward to getting to know people through Couch Surfing.

I have surfed a lot and hosted a few, been to a couple of meetings and met some really great people. CS saved me in Fortaleza!

visited 26 states (11.5%)Create your own visited map of The World

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Jose in Pinamar, Argentina. Such a great introduction to CS!

Pablo in Barlioche, Argentina- Amazing house and "rebuena onda". Seriously cool guy.

German and Diego in Mendoza, Argentina. Great fun, only wish I could have stayed a little longer.

Gabi who showed me the immense Iguazu falls.

Magno who guided me through Carnival in Rio de Janeiro

Roberta and her lovely boyfriend in Sucre, Nico in San Martin de los Andes, Jake in Santa Cruz, lifesaver Freddy in La Paz.

Juan in Otavalo and of course Carloss in Quito!!

Lezca and crew in Oxford. Katie and Emily in Brighton during a mini-England-trip.

And so many since, too many to count!

Interests

Music- classical Spanish guitar, jazz, hiphop, rnb, samba bossa nova, reggae,
a bit of everything.

Art, museums, foreign film and literature, languages, food.

Sport- yoga, capoeira, belly dance, aerobics, running, zumba ...

Music, Movies & Books

Movies: Les Choristes, Clockwork Orange, Kite Runner, Cruel Intentions, Leon, Cidade de Deus, Jules et Jim, Le Dernier Metro, Belle Epoque...

Garcia Marquez, Unamuno, Oscar Wilde, Isabel Allende, Shantaram, Tom Sawyer, English classics, Carmen Laforet, to name but a few

One Amazing Thing I've Done

The Millenium celebrations on a beach in Thailand. Climbing Mt Masada in Israel. Duke of Edinburgh Gold through the wet and miserable Lake District. Travelling to India and visiting ancient temples. Six months in South America, including working at Aldea Yanapay in Cusco, climbing Macchu Pichu, Garganta del diablo in the Iguazu falls, the vast Salt Flats of Uyuni, Paragliding over Carnival in Rio de Janeiro, trekking to the Lost City in Colombia. Feeding kangaroos and swimming with crocodiles in Australia, visiting the Tokyo fish market at 5am. Learning the ways of Fortaleza life, helping teach Capoeira in nurseries and teaching English to Brazilian kids, sand dunes of Jericoacoara, all-night beach reggae parties in Canoa Quebrada, Itacaré: one of my favourite places in the world, Carnaval in Recife/Olinda...

Teach, Learn, Share

Happy to teach and learn languages- Spanish, Portuguese and English are my main ones. A bit of French, Italian and Catalan...

I can teach a bit of yoga and show you how to make your belly squirm in a rhythmic kinda way.

Would like to learn some different guitar styles (I am currently restricted to my years of learning classical and Spanish guitar) and any pearls of wisdom you are offering up. Would also like to learn gymnastics or acrobatics, if anyone is willing to teach me!

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Ecuador, France, Germany, India, Italy, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Thailand, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Brazil, Spain, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see HannaH's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile