Hannah Taska's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Hannah’s full profile.

Overview

  • 13 references 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, German
  • 35, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Gardener
  • Homeschooling; Colby College; Upper Valley Educators Inst...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am a reflective person who values connections with other people and the development of my own unique self. I love to learn about topics including people's personalities and relationships, the environment, and social issues, and to learn through reading, writing, music, and foreign language. Another important interest is being outdoors, in all seasons and most weather, exploring the woods out my back door or mountains further afield on foot, bike, ski, or canoe. I have a gardening business which I enjoy as a way to spend a lot of time outdoors spring through fall. In the winter I substitute teach and do some local journalism.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I would like to get to know people and places where I travel in meaningful ways. I would like to offer similar opportunities to others.

Interests

Thinking about and discussing relationships, ethics, environmental issues, and more; Hiking, running, skiing, biking, and other outdoor activities; music (listening, playing, dancing); meeting people and exploring new places; gardening and other self sufficient activities; reading and writing; speaking foreign languages...

  • animals
  • fish
  • writing
  • dancing
  • environment
  • ethics
  • dining
  • cooking
  • running
  • gardening
  • board games
  • reading
  • traveling
  • cars
  • socializing
  • music
  • guitar
  • piano
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • canoeing
  • skiing
  • languages
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Music:
- Rock and pop of various types, including Twenty One Pilots, Brand New, the Rolling Stones, the Grateful Dead, the Beatles
- Some folksy rock: Joni Mitchell, Simon and Garfunkel...
- Various other genres, which I listen to less often but still enjoy: some rhythm and blues, traditional French-Canadian and Irish music, waltzes and tangos on the piano, some classical...

Movies:
- French movies
- Dramas which also include romance, comedy, intense interactions and compelling plots
- Strange movies
- Some ones I've enjoyed: Snow Cake, Little Otik...(to be continued)

Books:
- by...Toni Morrison: Jazz, The Bluest Eye
- John Steinbeck: The Grapes of Wrath
- Margaret Atwood: The Handmaid's Tale
- George Eliot: Adam Bede
- John Irving: The World According to Garp
- some books about education and psychology, diverse personal experiences, immigrant experiences, alternative views on history, environmental topics...

-
-

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I backpacked in the French Pyrenees, Alps and other mountain ranges during extended travel with my family about 20 years ago. We traversed high pastures, volcanic peaks, snow fields, coastal paths, and more, meeting lots of interesting people on the way. The trails went through villages as well as natural areas. We also had many opportunities to practice our French. I am ready to go back soon for more exploration and to hone my language skills!

Teach, Learn, Share

I love to write and would be happy to share my experience with this with any other people who enjoy writing, and to learn from their writing experiences too.

I have experience both from childhood and from recent adulthood with aspects of self-sufficiency, including vegetable gardening, composting, heating by wood, helping to build houses and other structures, alternative water systems, and alternative energy. I am eager to learn more in many of these areas and will happily teach what I've learned as well.

I love outdoor activities in all seasons, including running, XC skiing, biking, and hiking. I can introduce you to any of these activities or share my perspectives if you are interested.

I love to learn from other people, so likely I will be interested in learning whatever makes you unique as a person. I am interested in people's reflections on their experiences, relationships, and personal passions. I enjoy sharing mutual interests or learning new ones as ways to get to know people as well.

I am intrigued by the perspectives of people who come from different backgrounds than myself or have had different experiences.

I seek to improve my skills in writing, in French, in the self-sufficient activities mentioned above among others, in running, guitar- and piano-playing, dancing, teaching, and more. I anticipate many new future interests as well. At some point I want to accomplish these goals among others: learn a language with a different alphabet, travel to at least some continents besides North America and Europe, possibly also live outside New England, experience parenting, raise animals, learn to hunt and fish, learn more about building and about fixing cars.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share my outgoing yet reflective nature, inquisitiveness, and openness to new experiences.

I can share an enthusiasm for exploration and for outdoor activities in all seasons, as further described above in "Teach, Learn, Share".

I will gladly cooperate in cooking or let you have the kitchen to yourself, if we are sharing a meal. I will share my enthusiasm for food, whether familiar or different.

I can share my own travel experiences, as well as lifelong living experience in northern New England.

I can share enthusiasm for board games, card games, strategy games and word games.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, France

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Hannah’s full profile.

My Groups