Logo orange

Caroline Gaines

Denver, CO, United States

Not Accepting Guests

90% response rate · Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Caroline's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 22 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning German, Hindi, Spanish
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • International Relations / Trade Policy
  • MA
  • From Traverse City, MI, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

** I can not host in the next 8 months -- I'm moving to Geneva in July 2015 for work. Thanks for understanding!!**

CURRENT MISSION

Holding still for a few months to catch my breath...

ABOUT ME

I enjoy the tales people tell, the humorous, small moments in life as well as the engineering of the natural world.

I harbor tremendous trust and faith in strangers. I am naturally an introvert and like time alone though enjoy meeting new people too.

I left my job in 2009 to spend a year traveling around the world. It was the best decision I could have made and changed my perspectives about how I would like to live my life.

*** Please say the word "DELHI" in your couchsurfing request so I know you have actually read my profile prior to requesting to stay in my home for several days -- Denver is a really popular place with many requests coming in daily. I will respond to requests with substance.... not those looking for a free hotel ***

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

In the past I have surfed and hosted - I think the old adage that it feels better to give than to receive holds true here.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

The people I've met through CS have been some of the best parts of my life.

In the past year since CS has become more prominent, I have received a number of impersonal requests from folks seeking a 'free hotel' -- Please bear in mind that CS's mission is for cultural and educational exchange, not free accommodation.

Interests

Old souls, anything outdoors, running, downhill skiing, autumn air, cheese, sleeping next to the fire, laughter, black cherry soda, learning from those older and wiser than I, skating outside, cycling, making new friends but keeping the old, antique shops, hot steamy showers on cold snowy days, cooking, walkable villages, smiles, backpacking far away from civilization, dill pickles, reincarnating roadside junk, exploring new places on foot, old farmhouses, learning people's life stories, pubic radio, seeing old folks dance, swimming in the Great Lakes, photography, old dark dusty dog eared bookstores, spending time with loved ones, learning to sail, historic architecture, keeping up with current affairs, jumping off stuff, growing veggies, tuk tuks, painting, independence, I love to see people smile, ... I do not like math.

Music, Movies & Books

so many... usually whatever I'm reading/listening to/watching at that moment.

Recently: Tharoor, Diamond, Mills, Douglas, Nasr....

I primarily read non-fiction although some of my favorite fiction authors include Plath, Rushdie, Paz, Atwood.

Films... have enjoyed Adaptation, The English Patient, Once, Elegy, EARTH, Waking Ed Devine, Little Miss Sunshine, Love Actually, Bourne films, Frida, The King's Speech, The Music Room, The Gods Must Be Crazy, Thomas Crowne Affair, Slumdog Millionaire, The Long Road Round, The Power of One... No TV for many years so can't really comment there...

Music... love jazz late at night, folk, classic rock, African choral music, acoustic guitar, most classical, some indie music... really enjoy hearing live music anywhere ...

One Amazing Thing I've Done

the Great Lakes hold a special power over me - I feel at peace on the shores of Lake Michigan

Teach, Learn, Share

SEEKING TO LEARN:
-how to repair/build bicycles
-to speak Hindi & Spanish
-how to knit
-about long term bicycle traveling
-how to be softer, more compassionate & patient
-how to whitewater kayak
-about Marco Polo's journeys & the ancient silk route

CAN TEACH:
-how to ice skate
-build a table
-toss a frisbee
-simple yoga
-how to swim
-how to drive manuel vehicle or motorcycle
-how to canoe
-about adventure racing
-how to downhill ski

What I Can Share With Hosts

CAN SHARE:
-Hearty, genuine smiles :)
-cooking
-travel tales
-games
-a listening & loving ear
-laughter
-I'm can re-sew buttons or holes & always carry needle & thread :) !
-walks
-some simple Asian or European culinary dishes (pls have low expectations ;)

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Cambodia, Canada, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Fiji, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Laos, Mexico, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, Puerto Rico, South Africa, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Uruguay, Viet Nam, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries I've Lived In

India, New Zealand, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Caroline's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile