Logo orange

Marianne de Swart

Quanzhou, Fujian, China

Maybe Accepting Guests

75% response rate · Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Marianne's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 51 Positive References
  • Fluent in Chinese (Simplified), Dutch, English; learning French, German, Italian
  • 40, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Teacher, some business here and ther...
  • MA in philosphy
  • From Baarle Nassau, interesting little enclave village in Holland
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Shorterm: Become a toy designer .Longterm: die content with the life I lived. Impossible: to start liking Celine Dion.

ABOUT ME

Just another person trying to have a good time while stuck on our little planet. Enjoys Chinese food, loves dogs, has a compulsive 'disorder' to try new things. Also a bit of a language geek. Living in China long term and finding myself more Chinafied every day.

I have a tendency to 'roam around'. By bike, on foot or by train. I feel excited about all the things 'that lie around the corner'.

PHILOSOPHY

We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Hosting/ surfing and visiting / organising meetings.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Surfed: Jan @ Turnhout Harry @ Hoek van Holland Jo-Anneke @ Rotterdam Ralph @ Ghent Ilse, Maarten, Lilou and Kaya @ De Lier Soheil @ Schipluiden Murat @ Rotterdam Stephanie @ Paris Xing Ruo Yu @ Nijmegen Pieta @ Rotterdam Erika @ Cluj Romania Akos @ Budapest Hungary Isabella @ Al Ain UAE Yi Na in Taiwan Mohammed in Sri Lanka Kim in Vietnam

Hosted: Verena from Rotterdam/ Germany Arjan from Netherlands Amir from Utrecht/ Kerman Jose from Spain Ralph from Belgium Hugo from France/ Vlissingen Sarka from Czech Republic Shahin from Holland Wouter from Holland Francesco from Italy Patrik from Belgium Jayesh from India/ Germany Serge from Russia Derek from Canada Isa and Chiz from Argentina Bepi from Australia Chuck from the USA Stephanie from the USA Alessandra from Peru Erik from the USA Emre from Turkey Ilissa and Jacky from the USA Manolito form Holland Ruoyu from China Robert from Germany Daniel from Holland Mary and Matthieu from Canada

Organised: trade your stuff for fun and charity party jam party on non-western and home made instruments kitchen surf event - Chinese food picknick and museum visit garlic fest book trading party in Quanzhou

Participated: Bollywoodparty Gent Kitchensurfing @ Alberts Photography meeting Weekly meeting in Rotterdam 90s party Gent and pre-party dinner Holi celebration @ Sagnik's Meteorshower watching in Drunense en Loonse Duinen

Interests

Art (photography, textile, Miao-embroidery, old Dutch masters, chinese porcelain from Jingdezhen and Yaozhou)

Exploring (I used to ride my bike all the time when in Holland, but not in China. Maybe some day soon. )

Eating (I'm very good at it) Cooking for guests.

Caring for the environment, recycling, waste management, not-shopping, trading stuff, second hand stuff.

I play the erhu but not very well.

Enjoy playing pool and badminton, swimming and camping and other outdoorsy stuff.

Music, Movies & Books

Best movie ever: Cyclo by Trahn Ahn Hung. Period.

Into The Wild Who's afraid of Persian cats? Borat The Graduate

Music: Miles Davis/ Amr Diab/ Eldee from Nigeria/ music from Xinjiang/ Xie Tian Xiao/ Erhu/ silly 80s classics/ Luc de Vos/ De Mens/ Tori Amos/ Sean Paul/ Omer Kadan/ Kraftwerk/ Lou Reed/ Murat Nasirov

Books: The secret life of lobsters. Cod Titaantjes/dichtertje/ de Uitvreter Slaughterhouse five

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I'm proud that I finished my high-school while I was living in an orphanage. (Yes, it is okay to talk about these things)

I always dreamt of visiting Amritsar in India and Isfahan in Iran and I finally did. It was great!

I love the toiletmuseum in New Delhi.

Pretty amazing was the time when I was interpreting at a Chinese tombstone fair for a businessman who had energy like a complete footballteam on speed and who tried to convert me, speaking of hell and ressurection.

Once I volunteered for Alcoholics Anonymous in Belgium and the stories that I heard where amazing and often very sad.

Teach, Learn, Share

I write in my gratitude diary every day and feel that it's helped me a lot. I can tell you about this, if you like.

What I Can Share With Hosts

If you want to learn more about China, I'm happy to share. I can also teach some of the basics of the language.

Countries I've Visited

Bahrain, Cambodia, India, Iran, Islamic Republic of, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, Mongolia, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

China, Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see Marianne's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile