Kayla Hart's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kayla’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 5 References 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Italian
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Drug store (Cashier and Postal Clerk)
  • BFA in Creative Writing
  • From Cranbrook, BC
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Figure myself out a little bit more.


Even though I have a degree in Writing, I still have an insanely hard time coming up with something to write about myself. I'm 28 and finished my writing degree at UVic four years ago. I'm from a small town and was in a marching band for 7 years. My favourite job I ever had was working at Build-a-Bear, and the only reason I'm not working there anymore is because our city's location closed down. My obsessions include Joan of Arcadia (a cancelled TV show), Rent, Before Sunrise/Sunset, How I Met Your Mother, anything France-related, the movie "Dear Frankie," and my cat.


Probably the golden rule: "Do unto others as you would have them do unto you." I am Christian, so I believe in treating everyone with respect and not judging.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Mostly I signed up a four years ago because I was taking a trip to NYC and needed a couch. I haven't really done much on here since, especially since I'm not able to host (I still haven't sorted our my place from the most stressful move of my life last year), but I'd love to meet up for coffee with people coming to Victoria!


I've only had two experiences so far. The first was travelling to NYC and having hosts gracious enough to host me for a full week. And the second was staying with a family for a few days in Belgium when I made a quick stop over there for faith-related reasons while on a vacation in France. Both were great experiences, and I'm looking forward to doing it again for future travels!


Theatre/movies/TV, singing and listening to music, and writing. I like swing dancing too, but I'm not a pro at it or anything.

  • cats
  • writing
  • singing
  • documentaries
  • acting
  • festivals
  • dancing
  • swing dancing
  • coffee
  • running
  • movies
  • tv
  • traveling
  • music

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Dear Frankie, Juno, Hook, Rent, Fight Club, Amelie, Moulin Rouge, My Girl, Wide Awake, Memento, Life as a House, 13 going on 30, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Bienvenue chez les Ch'tis, Before Sunrise, Before Sunset, The Green Mile, 500 Days of Summer, etc.
TV Shows: Joan of Arcadia, How I Met Your Mother, Boy Meets World, Life Unexpected, Once Upon A Time, Gilmore Girls, Glee, The Big Bang Theory, House, Desperate Housewives, etc.
Books: Valley of the Dolls, The Glass Castle, Tuesdays with Morrie.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I think one of my favourite experiences (which is actually quite simple and not astonishing at all) was this local festival in the South of France that I went to when I was there on exchange. It was called the Fete du Mimosa (mimosa being a plant that grows in the Riviera in February) and was sort of along the lines of carnivale (throwing confetti and spraying silly string, a parade of performers and a truck with guys throwing bouquets of mimosa, large paper mache people, etc.), and it was just the highlight of my exchange there. The energy was intoxicating, and I think it was the day I felt more like a local than a tourist.

A more recent experience was probably taking a Greyhound bus 3.5 days each way to see the closing show of the off-Broadway revival of Rent. I wasn't a Rent-head in time to do that for the final show of the Broadway run, so I felt like I needed to do it for the revival :P. I got to meet Jonathan Larson's family (I recognized them from the documentary on the DVD), and the cast (including Anthony Fedorov, who I was a huge fan of during his run on American Idol). So, that was pretty amazing as well.

I've also put 2 one-woman shows in local Fringe Festivals (one in Victoria, one in Vancouver). I was just the writer though, and had friends do the acting for me.

Teach, Learn, Share

Hmm...I'll get back to you on this one.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Canada, France, Italy, Monaco, Netherlands, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, France

Join Couchsurfing to see Kayla’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups