Logo orange

Renee Harvey

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Renee's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 44 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Sign Language - American, Spanish
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Auditor/ Accountant
  • University
  • From Melbourne and Brisbane, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Change the world, one couch at a time!

ABOUT ME

Hola todos!

I'm a 26 year old female from sunny Brisbane who has been curing the travel bug by hosting people from all over the world and embarking on my own travel adventures when work and money permit.

I'm am an accountant..no that doesn't mean I'm completely boring but I do work pretty long hours. I'm a mad keen sports fan (anything and everything - playing or spectating). I'm most happy outdoors making the most of Brisbane's beautiful weather :)

I own a pet python named Slippery Pete. For those not so keen on snakes, he isn't that big and in an enclosure - NOTHING TO WORRY ABOUT =) However, if you are happy to hold him, he is very placid, he will search for your pocket and then fall asleep in it!

Brisbane is a great place to see by foot/pushbike/motorbike/ferry and hopefully while you're here you'll get to see the city like I do.

I'm working towards prioritising experience over material possessions (long process). So for the time being I try only to spend money on the bare essentials, food, clothes, rent and the next plane ticket ;) Don't get me wrong, I love gadgets... but now that I've realised I could have a macbook or a week in Thailand, it's not such a hard decision.

For now I'm happy in the corporate world but if I could figure out a way to earn $15 a day passive income ...I'd give it all away and move to South America hahaha

Currently, Kylie and I are embarking on a 12 month adventure starting in Hong Kong, through Europe and then traveling by land from Mexico all the way south until Chile :) If you'd like to know anything else about us feel free to ask!

PHILOSOPHY

"When the power of love overcomes the love of power, the world will know peace." -Sri Chinmoy Ghose

"It's not good luck, it's good preparation" ;)

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have been hosting couch surfers since I joined the site at the end of 2008. I have had a great time hosting and was lucky enough to surf some couches recently. I have attended weekly meet-ups both in Brisbane and while traveling. I participate by using the forums and contacting people to give and receive advice about their travel plans :)

CS Brisbane: Weekly meeting
CS San Diego: Taco Tuesday
CS Bogota: Cumpleaños y Pic-Kevin-Nic y Salsa
CS Medellin: Picnic

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Quality > Quantity :)

Surfed

Veronica: Medellin, Colombia
David & Wilmar, Bogota Colombia
Ramon: Phom Penh, Cambodia
Ana: Medellin, Colombia
Zuly: Bogota, Colombia
Rowena: Victoria BC
Melissa and Mark: San Fran USA
Ryan: Trinity Beach (Cairns), Australia
Mel & James: Cairns, Australia

Hosted

IB: San Diego
Femke: Netherlands
Anton: Germany
Erin: Seattle (USA)
Mickael: France
Shannon: San Fran (USA)
Jess: Germany
Gerban: Netherlands
Jane & Ulysse: Canada
Nikhil: San Diego (USA)

Interests

I like to find cheap and free things to do around Brisbane such as;

Tuesday nights are $5 movie nights at Southbank, it's a cheap and fun way to catch up with friends. Always happy to join people for a $7 curry at Indian Kitchen or a $5 steak at RG's. I like ducking away to Byron Bay for a relaxing weekend by the beach. Otherwise we have a man-made beach in Brisbane city!

I don't get out clubbing as much as I used to, these days it's more to see a specific DJ or band than just heading out every weekend. I love summer festivals!! I'll go to as many as my budget allows assuming there's someone I want to see playing.

I used to ride motorbikes (although I had to sell it to fund my travels). Past bikes include - 2007 Suzuki GS 500e, 2007 Suzuki GSXR 600 and a 2007 KTM 690 Super Motard.

I'm still learning Spanish (I recently spent 3 months living in Bogota, Colombia)

I enjoy inline skating and AFL is my favourite sport to play and watch (Carn the Blues!!)

Music, Movies & Books

I listen to a lot of music, watch a few movies and am able to watch a TV series for 12 hours straight but I struggle to read books! The closest I've come to reading books is my extensive collection of Mad Magazine.

TV: Dexter, Monkey Dust, Drawn Together, Scrubs, Gossip Girl, Summer Heights High, Grey's Anatomy, The Hills, Entourage, Californication, LA Ink, Master Chef, the Inbetweeners, Skins, Shameless, United States of Tara. It's unfortunate but I do enjoy 'reality' TV :\

I enjoy music of all genres, I'm not afraid to tell people I loved Britney Spears last album in between listening to my favourite Drum n Bass acts (Shapeshifter/Concord Dawn/Pendulum). At the moment I'm favouring electronic music but I still dig good Aussie bands like Jebediah. Aussie hip hop (TZU, Hilltop Hoods, Drapht, Pez, Seth Sentry, Illy, 360), Minimal (Trentemoller), House (Kaskade), UK Garage (The Streets, Dizzee Rascal, Lady Sov), Breaks (Plump DJs, Freestylers, Stanton Warriors), Ska (Reel Big Fish). It doesn't matter what genre - GOOD music is GOOD MUSIC.

I've started listening to Spanish music and I really like Abel Pintos!

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Watch the sun rise over Machu Picchu on January 1st, 2010 after trekking the Inca Trail for 4 days long and tough days.

Racing my motorbike at Queensland Raceway - knee scraping on the road over taking 1000cc bikes on my 600 ;)

Hiking to the top of Mt Warning in the pitch dark as it's the first place in Australia to see the sun rise.

Jumping off a 100m bridge in Ecuador with just a rope and a death-wish.

The view from the Empire State Building - amazing!

Living in Colombia with a goal to learn Spanish.

Traveling solo around South America for 3 months, can't describe how much fun I had! Traveling through South America, Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos, Thailand, Malaysia, England, Spain, USA in the space of 24months has been incredible.

Watched my sporting hero Kobe Bryant drop 40 points at the Staples Center.

Surf with dolphins in Byron Bay.

Float down the Amazon river seeing sloths in the trees and pink dolphins swimming.

Paragliding over Lima.

Teach, Learn, Share

I used to ride motorbikes so we can share stories about rides and race tracks? :D

Unfortunately I don't have a long list of mastered skills only a long list of skills I'm currently trying to attain!

I'd love to get some help learning Spanish and would be more than happy to help you with English :D

I'm intrigued by people that live differently to me, be that your home/family life, religion, travel destinations... anything :)

Countries I've Visited

Australia, Bolivia, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, France, Japan, Malaysia, New Zealand, Peru, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Australia

Join Couchsurfing to see Renee's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile