Phillip Schmidt's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Phillip’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Spanish
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • student
  • studied mechatronics at University of Stuttgart, Germany
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 70% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

at the moment i write my master thesis at the UNAM, afterwards i wanna explore the rest of Mexico and travel southbound as far as i can get. the past few years i lived and studied in Stuttgart, although i spent quite a while studying/working/staying abroad and travelling. im interested to meet and get to know all kinds of different people, share experiences and have fun. besides finishing my studies, i want to practice Spanish and explore more of beautiful Mexico / the World..

PHILOSOPHY

Jeder macht was er will - probably pretty much like "Live and let live"

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

i signed up a long time ago but never really participated, i dont really know why. when i was travelling i enjoyed staying in youth hostels where its easy to get to know ppl and fellow travellers, altho i prefered getting to know the "locals" when i stayed at friends places abroad or lived abroad. so now its seems like its finally the hour to get more active, i think this project is an awesome idea and i want to try it and hopefully host surfers myself when i finally find a place to settle - probably temporarely ;)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

not in terms of this couchsurfing project but when i stayed at my friends places in Panama and Rio, they integrated me in their group of friends from day one and i was even part of the family. so i was able to pick up an insight into their habits, daily lives and some of the language. that made these awesome experiences that i could never have had just as a "normal tourist"

Interests

besides travelling (which i guess is pretty common here): i read a lot and go running, normaly hang out with my friends in the evenings, have some beers and smoke, watch series/movies, sometimes poker. i went a lot to the gym during cold German winter and my favorite skiing! now that i got finally warmer we started playing basketball again. most of the weekends we go clubbing or sometimes travel :) i mainly listen to electronic music but also went to some rock festivals. i study engineering so im also a bit techy ;)

  • festivals
  • beer
  • running
  • clubbing
  • movies
  • traveling
  • poker
  • music
  • electronic music
  • skiing
  • basketball
  • engineering
  • mathematics

Music, Movies, and Books

cant wait for the next Breaking Bad episodes and start rewatching Big bang Theory (this time in Spanish), also some of the classics Pulp Fiction, Fight Club and a newer one Django. i like (´alternative´) electronic music, pretty much my favorite band the last few years was The Glitch Mob. i also enjoy listing to sets of random independent electronic artist on the net. before i listend more to DnB and some years ago most of the time rock/metal. i went to some huge ass rock festivals which was some of the best experiences and it all start with the Offspring, Bloodhoundgang and System of a Down. The last months i read quite some books of Haruki Murakami which is probably one of my favorite authors at the moment and listen to Shantaram which i read and ejoyed a lot some years ago.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

climbed the Mt. Kinabalu (4,095m) in Borneo, Malaysia before sunrise with a stunning view upto some Philippine islands from the peak

Teach, Learn, Share

i want to learn Spanish and can teach German. besides 99 ways how to open a bottle of beer and less popular skills like math and programming ;)

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Brazil, Mexico, Netherlands, Panama, Philippines

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Mexico, Singapore, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Phillip’s full profile. It’s free!