Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 98% response rate
  • Last login 4 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Hayley & Simon’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 29 References 12 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning French, Italian
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Choreographer, stage manager, director (Hayley) / Compose...
  • Bachelors in music from Western Oregon University
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION
To serve my community.

ABOUT US

We both grew up in the Pacific Northwest (Simon in Corvallis, OR and Bainbridge Island, WA and Hayley in the tiny town of Cashmere, WA) and met each other during our musical studies at Western Oregon University. We were drawn together by a mutual desire to travel in Europe, so after graduating from college that's what we did! Before we knew it, our little adventure had become five years of life and work in Berlin and different parts of Austria. We then decided it was time to be near our families again, and have settled down in Portland, OR for the time being.

We're friendly, neat, generally quiet people who love to hear and share good stories.

PHILOSOPHY
Try to see things from the other point of view, and be compassionate.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

We love hosting visitors and hearing stories from other parts of the world. Over the last few years, we have enjoyed surfing a few couches, and have made a few longtime friends at Couchsurfing events.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Couchsurfed with the lovely Andrea and her family in Anthering (near Salzburg) during summer 2009. She generously spent a day sharing her beautiful city with my parents and me, along with interesting tidbits of history and Austrian culture.

Andrea & her family have since become my own adopted family in Austria - we have spent holidays together and I even lived with them for 9 months! This first Couchsurfing experience is hard to beat, but I have made a few other good friends and shared a great many wonderful evenings thanks to this community!

Interests

Music of all kinds, playing piano, dancing, baking, cooking & eating, books and movies, crocheting & knitting, writing, new friends, new languages, badmitton (we're not very good, but it's fun!).

  • culture
  • writing
  • books
  • concerts
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • baking
  • movies
  • traveling
  • knitting
  • music
  • piano
  • surfing
  • history
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

The Grapes of Wrath, Steinbeck
East of Eden, Steinbeck
Hellen Keller's autobiography
James Thurber

Amadeus, Shawshank Redemption, Inglorious Basterds, Nirgendwo in Afrika, Twelve Angry Men, It's a Wonderful Life, Marx Brothers, Modern Times

Enjoy hearing all kinds of music.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Buy a one-way ticket to Europe.

Teach, Learn, Share

Special skills include playing piano, dancing, choreographing, producing concerts, crocheting, and cooking. Willing to try almost anything, and always willing to help around the house.

We love learning new languages!

What I Can Share with Hosts

We'll cook dinner for you! And Simon can play the piano.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Spain, Switzerland, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Austria, Germany, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Hayley & Simon’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups