Rachel Carbonell's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 37% response rate
  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rachel’s full profile.

Overview

  • 26 references 22 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 41, Female
  • Member since 2007
  • holistic health advocate
  • M.A. English/Social Sciences
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Growing my holistic health advocacy and coaching enterprise. Practicing gratitude and mindfulness. Enjoying nature and re-learning the excitement of the world through a child's eyes.

ABOUT ME

Please note that I am a single parent, so I have my hands full ... anyone interested in consciously living as a guest welcome to inquire.

I'm an artsy, quirky, well-educated, and well-read, leftist leaning mix of hippie and intellectual ....... I like chaos, stillness, making/seeing art, food (mostly vegetarian), good friends and conversations, going out dancing, exploring, teaching, listening to music, seeing shows, nature, kitties, dreaming and living. Proud mother to a rambunctious 5-year-old, rediscovering the world through her eyes.

PHILOSOPHY

Life is meant to make the most out of. I believe in compassion, openness, adventure, living life fully.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have couchsurfed and hosted many Couchsurfers. Currently can only occasionally host people as I am kept busy with a toddler, pets (dog and two kitties), and work.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Shared my one-bedroom apt with 2 roommates on my couch before - good times and new friendships were forged!! I also stayed with a lovely girl while traveling in Scotland.

Interests

Literature, art, music, life, movies, veggie food, nature, health, nightlife, teaching, cooking, eating out, museums, sunshine, friends, adventures, hiking, traveling, meaningful conversation, being critical about our late-stage patriarchal system of capitalism, learning about earth-based healing and spirituality.

  • arts
  • culture
  • books
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • vegetarian
  • nightlife
  • movies
  • traveling
  • eating out
  • music

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies - Barton Fink, Amelie, Triplets of Belleville, Harold and Maude, Babel, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Waking Life, etc

Music - Bjork, Of Montreal, Joni Mitchell, Cat Power, the Shins, Beth Orton, Buddy Guy, Ray Charles, Psapp, Sigur Ros, Wild Beasts, Yeasayer, Beach House, Four Tet, the Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Blonde Redhead, The Black Keys, EDM music, etc etc

books - Daisy Miller, 100 Years of Solitude, The Master and Margarita, Midnight's Children, The Unbearable Lightness of Being, Beloved, Omnivore's Dilemna, and Pollan's latest book: How to Change Your Mind

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Stayed/worked on a turtle reserve in Costa Rica. Hiked the Inca trail and saw Machuu Pichu. Couldn't choose just one.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can cook and share stories. People full of knowledge of philosophy/theory/culture who can teach me a few things too appreciated! Anyone who enjoys spending time with a toddler and wants to help with pets always appreciated.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Beautiful home with pool, good stories, beach time.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Aruba, Australia, Barbados, Canada, Costa Rica, Ecuador, France, Guatemala, Israel, Italy, Kenya, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Peru, Saint Lucia, Scotland, Spain, Uganda, United Kingdom, Uruguay

Join Couchsurfing to see Rachel’s full profile.

My Groups