Jacqueline Schear's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jacqueline’s full profile.

Overview

  • 15 references 11 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese, French, Spanish
  • 43, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • I travel the country selling and demonstrating violins
  • Bachelors Degree
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To experience as much in life as I can and continue to grow my understanding of myself and the world.

ABOUT ME

I've lived my whole life in Cincinnati surrounded by a large family and great friends. As much as I love living here though I luckily have had the opportunity to do an extensive amount of traveling prior to 2020. I love to cook and if you were ever to host me or stay with me I would gladly make some meals. I normally have friends over a few times a week just to have time talking and eating together.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Right now I belong to the Cincinnati CouchSurfing group and have already had a number of fun experiences with them locally. They are a great community of people who are all happy to open up their homes and spend their freetime with newcomers. There is always something going on every week.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Traveling the world for 3 months back in 2013-2014, one of the most memorable interactions was staying with a Japanese family in Osaka. I was initially only supposed to be staying a couple nights but we had such a great time sharing experiences together that I got to stay with them an additional week! They had the most adorable young girls and I actually got to play dress up and wear a kimono to pick up the girls from school one day just to be silly and surprise them. :-)

Interests

I am very interested in cooking, nutrition and health, dog training, kiteboarding, playing music, and showing people new ways to enjoy my hometown.

  • animals
  • cooking
  • exercise
  • walking
  • pub crawls
  • motorcycles
  • boating
  • traveling
  • music
  • folk music
  • surfing
  • jet skiing
  • skiing
  • rock climbing
  • soccer
  • tennis
  • jiu jitsu
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

My favorite movie is Nottinghill with Julia Roberts and Hugh Grant, one of my favorite moments is where Hugh Grant is walking by himself in the street while the seasons are changing around him. I also have been listening to music by groups like NickleCreek, I love modern bluegrass (not the country influence kind). As for books I like I tend to be more interested in fiction for a chance to get away from everyday life. Recently I read "Ninth House" by Leigh Bardugo.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I was lucky enough to visit my sister in Peru in 2009 and while we were there we went on a boating excursion to view sea lions in their natural habitat. It was beautiful and truly amazing to be that close to these animals who were just relaxing a bathing in the sunlight.

Also, having the opportunity to walk on the Great Wall of China was fantastic as well. It is more like climbing instead of walking and it's impressive how a lot of Chinese women were climbing it in high heels and dressed as if they were out on a romantic date.

Teach, Learn, Share

I really enjoy showing people interesting places around town, we have some amazing views given the seven hills that surround the city. I also like sharing my culinary skills with anyone who is open to trying new foods. I guess if someone was interested in folk music and had a instrument I could teach them some new tunes.

What I Can Share with Hosts

My focus while couchsurfing is on sharing experiences and having meaningful connections with my hosts.

Countries I’ve Visited

Chile, China, France, Germany, Ireland, Japan, Peru, Singapore, Thailand, United Arab Emirates

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Jacqueline’s full profile.

My Groups