Heather Hutchison's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Heather’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference
  • Fluent in English, Italian, Spanish; learning French
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Student
  • B.S. in International Relations at Georgetown University ...
  • From Green Bay, WI, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Oh, where to start!?

Well, to sum things up, most accurate would be to say that I'm in a "transitional" phase right now. I just finished my Master's and moved back to the US after living in Quito, Ecuador for 5 years. I'll be moving "out West" (most likely Seattle) in a few months, but will first be traveling for several weeks around Europe.

I'm a huge fan of nature (ll find I try to fit in as much as I can, so I will likely be out and about quite a bit. Still, I love to spend time with hosts whenever possible, especially to learn about the city from their perspective and experience.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I find that Couchsurfing is a great way to meet local people and have a unique experience. I have met some very intriguing, mind-opening people while Couchsurfing, and those are experiences that are irreplaceable and some of the most memorable from my travels.

Although I do not currently have my own place where I can offer a couch, I hope to do so whenever I get the chance!

Interests

Learning different languages; cooking; seeking out local food/wine/beer (food is always a big highlight in my travels!); exploring different cultures and customs; nature, forests, mountains, the Amazon, rock climbing, I could walk or bike for hours on end; hearing about other people's travels, philosophies, worldviews and experiences.

  • dining
  • cooking
  • wine
  • beer
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • rock climbing
  • languages
  • mountains

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Did a 5-day trek along the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu. An experience that still seems so surreal.

Ate crawling lemon ants and wriggling larva in the Amazon.

Completed 3 months of field research for my Master's thesis in Spanish in the Ecuadorian Amazon.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I love to cook and don't mind cleaning!

Countries I’ve Visited

Ecuador, France, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Peru, Philippines, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Ecuador, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Heather’s full profile. It’s free!