Henk Leutscher's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 5 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Henk’s full profile.


  • 48 references 26 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning German, Western Frisian
  • 38, Male
  • Member since 2006
  • [former] History and geography teacher
  • Bachelor of Education (history)
  • From Stadskanaal, Groningen, the Netherlands
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Enjoy Leeuwarden and set up my website www.aguidetoleeuwarden.nl


I am a calm and easy going guy who loves to meet new people. I love to hear new things and get new experiences. And yass I love to travel. (what a suprise here ey) I used to be a history teacher on a high school. I loved the kids, but I wasn't on the right school. So I quit my job and packed my bag. For more than a year I travelled all around the world. I've been back for some time now and I enjoy being back home. I haven't really figured out what kind of job I want to do in the long term, but I guess time will tell. I do know that I want to follow my dreams. Listen to good music, be surrounded by the wonderful CS people and who knows what other things. I want to following my own path and live my dream..


-carpe diem -dont be sad because its over, be happy and smile because it has happened

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I host people that need a place to stay and get to know them. I also like to give tours through the city, so don't be afraid to ask me for that (I like that!)
Together with Peter Postma I've set up the monthly meetings in Leeuwarden. We are now doing them for over three years.
I was a co-organiser of the 'Welcome to Friesland 2012' CS event.


I've mostly been a host and these were all very positive experiences. It's always nice to meet some new people. I've just surfed twice myself in Nijmegen and Trieste.
Participating and organising the Welcome to Friesland event was lots of fun!


Music, travelling, Reading, Writing, Sports

  • writing
  • books
  • poetry
  • design
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • sports
  • teaching
  • history
  • tourism
  • road trips
  • tours

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Radiohead, the beatles, Oasis, eels, Pink Floyd, Jeff Buckley, Kings of Convenience, Badly Drawn Boy, Neil Young, The White Stripes, Arctic Monkeys, Angus & Julia Stone, The XX, Whitest Boy Alive, Wilco, Spinvis.Movies: Easy Rider, American Beauty, Big Fish, The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy, Into the Wild, The Motorcycle Diaries, L'auberge espagnol, Little Miss Sunshine, Juno, The Life Aquatic, Goodbye Lenin!Books: On The Road,The Alchemist, Shadow of the Wind, The dice man, Siddhartha, The Zahir, De revolutieverzamelaar, Op reis achter het ijzeren gordijn, Het zijn net mensen.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I saw the most beautiful building in the world (the Taj-mahal), met the kindest people on earth in Iran and listened to their poetry at the shrine of Hafiz. I played in a Bollywood movie in Mumbai, taught English in Nepal for seven weeks and wrote a book with short stories about my travels in Eastern Europe. I Lived a year in Australia and made another year long trip around the world. Together with my friend Pieter I made road trips through the United states, Tasmania, Germany and New Zealand. The latter one with a wicked campervan that was painted in a coca-cola design and had 'enjoy cocaine' written on the side :)('Hugs not Drugs' was written on the back). Last year I travelled with my gf through the Balkans. Currently I'm working on a website called: a guide to leeuwarden. I am glad to say that I've done some rather amazing things in my life and I plan to keep on doing that.

Teach, Learn, Share

visited 50 states (22.2%)Create your own visited map of The World

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Italy, Kosovo, Laos, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Malaysia, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Nepal, Netherlands

Old School Badges

  • 5 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Henk’s full profile.

My Groups