Heidi+Philip van der Watt

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa

Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Heidi+Philip’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Heidi: Tourism Strategist, working with destinations to c...
  • Heidi: Urban and Regional Planning; Philip: Industrial En...
  • From Both born in Pretoria, South Africa. Elated to live in Cape Town
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Saving for a one-year (or perhaps longer) walk-about somewhere in South America


Philip: As a single parent, I had the privilege of raising my two boys from an early age. It was tough, but worth every precious day! Got married to my best friend & moved to Cape Town. And we are absolutely enjoying every moment of it. Especially as I'm the one that has to try all the outdoor stuff. I'm managing my own small business that keeps me busy during the week, and then, then there are weekends filled with cycling, hiking, snorkeling & slow food markets (love them all). Traveled somewhat, but not nearly as much as I would like to. One day is one day.....

Heidi: I'm the youngest of three children. Flew the nest to study at Stellenbosch University (where my education in wine began). Deciding to stay in the Western Cape is the second best decision I've ever made. My travelmap shows a lot of countries but regretably I've never been able to stay long. Hence our mission. I'm passionately (Philip may say defensively) Capetonian and just love living here. Philip is definitely the more out-going and energetic one. We try to do our bit for the planet at home and when we travel.


"Carpe Diem"
"Mind the Gap"

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Hoping to host and surf as often as possible.


Absolute beginners - but can't wait for the ride.


Heidi: water activities - swimming, snorkelling, sustainable living, social media, cultures (food, music, traditions, dress), archaeology, coffee

Philip: Anything outdoors....camping, hiking, cycling, snorkeling, beautiful beaches

We both love good food, wine (we live in wine country after all), neighbourhood markets and cosy fireside chatting

Music, Movies, and Books

M - Chocolat, Amelie, Untouchables, Avatar, English Patient, Withnail & I
M - Classical, Clapton, Neil Diamond, Sheryl Crowe, Parlotones, Theuns Jordaan, Chris Chameleon, Anna Davel (it's a South African thing...)
B - Isabel Allende, Agatha Christie, Roald Dahl, Rowling, Amy Tan, Alexander McCall Smith

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Heidi: Getting drenched by equatorial rain on a boat going downriver in Gabon; Getting drenched in the deserts of Oman (there's a theme here..)

Philip: The most amazing thing is to see your children develop into their own individual beings. God certainly knows what he's busy with!!!

Teach, Learn, Share

Heidi: I know a little about a lot, but if I had to single out anything "theoretic" it would be sustainable development and sustainable tourism. Otherwise, the 'under-the-skin' 'deep-immersion' experiences that Cape Town offers - of you really want to get to know her, I'm happy to share tips with you.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Benin, Botswana, Brazil, Cameroon, China, Ethiopia, France, Gabon, India, Kenya, Lesotho, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Oman, Russian Federation, Seychelles, South Africa, Spain, Swaziland, Switzerland, Tanzania, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

South Africa

Join Couchsurfing to see Heidi+Philip’s full profile. It’s free!