Alihan Kaya's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 9 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alihan’s full profile.

Overview

  • 14 references 8 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, German, Turkish; learning Finnish, French, Indonesian, Japanese, Russian
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • scientist/actor/singer
  • PhD
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

For spelling my name think about Alejandro (Lady Gaga), and cut the "dro" at the end, so "Alejan". Now you have the correct spelling. It means Great King in Turkish, which I am unfortunately not. So, I cannot provide you servants to serve or a stableman to take care of your carriage or feed your horses, but I am a man of hospitality and service myself.

I'm living in Ghent for more than 6 years now. I work as scientist at the uni but now I am working in a company. In my free time I'll probably be playing guitar, singing, acting, meeting friends, learning a language, working out, chilling, binge reading Wikipedia, cycling, trying to write stuff etc.

I'm easy going and empathic person. But of course, just like everyone, I'd expect the guest to respect the house and my life, and communicate clearly about everything related to the stay. I had several occasions where I had to "parent" some very irresponsible and needy surfers. I'd like to avoid that, like, forever.

Depending on each other's plans, we can talk, I can show you the city, if you like languages or playing music, I'd be happy to do language exchange or jamming with the guitar, but not necessary. Sharing crazy stories. Deep talks. Inspirations. The list can go on.

I have a specific interest in Eastern European culture, art, literature and languages. I don't want to die before learning a Slavic language. I've learned some Russian and Czech before, but it's hard and I don't have enough time and focus anymore. Well, inspirations are welcome!

PHILOSOPHY

Like a gazelle from the hunter's hand and like a bird from the hand of the fowler, free yourself.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Meet, host, share, talk, show, inspire

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Hosted many times in Turkey and Belgium. Surfed in Germany, Netherlands and France. Other than that various community activities during travels.

Interests

large spectrum of interests

  • singing
  • theater
  • modern art
  • acting
  • traveling
  • guitar
  • cycling
  • sports
  • martial arts
  • languages
  • psychology
  • sociology
  • rick and morty

Music, Movies, and Books

Greek Rembetiko music, 70-80's rock, psychedelic rock, G-funk, hiphop, classical music, psy/trance/goa, folk-rock

Binge reading Wikipedia, Russian literature, Turkish classics many nerdy scientific stuff

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach languages and how to build things technically. I can share my knowledge in repairing bikes, Mediterranean cooking

What I Can Share with Hosts

food, stories, companion

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Brazil, Czech Republic, France, Greece, Hungary, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Morocco, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Spain, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, Germany, Turkey

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Alihan’s full profile.

My Groups