Logo orange

Helen Boram

New York, NY, United States

Wants to Meet Up

0% response rate · Last login 7 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Helen's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 15 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 22, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Digital Advertising
  • Bachelors in Marketing
  • From Morehead, Kentucky
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I was raised by aging hippie, college-professor parents in an old farmhouse in Kentucky, though my entire family is originally from California. I discovered CS while studying abroad in Spain, and quickly fell in love with the concept and the community!

I've been in NYC on and off since 2012, but I'm now living back in Bushwick and working in digital media. I hope to be able to start hosting soon, but I love meeting new people so feel free to hit me up in the meantime if you're interested in exploring Brooklyn or just want to grab a drink.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

I've only been a member for a few years, but it seems like a great program and I'd love get more involved! I've stayed in hostels and made some wonderful friends there, but I've had nothing but great experiences with CS and I believe that this is an even better way to get to know people from all different places and backgrounds.

Interests

I love music and I'm probably a little too obsessed with concerts. I also like to eat and to cook and I'm always down to try new and interesting foods. I like to read and watch movies, and I love anything particularly witty or clever (that includes people too!). Exploring new places is one of my absolute favorite things to do, and I love walking around cities. I'll take a dive bar and a show over a fancy club any day, though I'm open to just about any adventure! I like to explore places off the beaten path and I love shopping at thrift stores and have somewhat of an obsession with street art. Other interests include photography, drinking coffee, horseback riding, music festivals, skiing, playing cards, and having absolutely no self control when it comes to Nutella.

Music, Movies & Books

I can find something I like in pretty much every genre of music, but I was raised on 60s-era Beatles and Simon & Garfunkel.

My favorite movie of all time is probably Almost Famous, and I like pretty much anything funny, thought-provoking, or out-of-the-ordinary.

Is it completely cliche to say my favorite series is Lord of the Rings? In addition, I grew up on P.G. Wodehouse, I still love Harry Potter, and I have too many other favorite books to count.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Hiking in the Cinque Terre, Italy--most breathtaking views I've ever seen and best pesto and focaccia ever along the way.

Wandering the streets of the Barrio del Carmen in Valencia, Spain, then ending up at the beach at dawn and swimming out into the Mediterranean as the sun rose.

Abbey Road. Fulfilled the childhood dreams of this Beatles-obsessed kid.

Building a school for kids on an island off the coast of Panama and seeing their faces when it was completed.

Meeting a French rock band on the street in Paris and having them do a private concert for us in our apartment at 2 AM.

Dancing with all my friends during a blue moon at a rooftop warehouse concert in Brooklyn on my last night in NYC.

Month-long couch surfing adventure from Brussels to Budapest in December. Amazing adventures while freezing our asses off, and a great introduction to CS.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm happy to practice English (or Spanish, though I'm not fantastic at that yet) with anyone in exchange for learning phrases in any other languages. Other than that, I'd love to discuss anything marketing or social media-related and I'd love to learn how marketing approaches differ among cultures. I'm also fascinated by psychology and what makes people tick, so I'm actually up for discussing and learning people's opinions about pretty much anything. I also make damn good desserts.

Countries I've Visited

Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Hungary, Italy, Morocco, Netherlands, Panama, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, Vatican City State

Countries I've Lived In

Spain, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Helen's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile