Helena Hecker's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 75% response rate
  • Last login about 16 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Helena’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 56 References 28 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French, German, Spanish
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • Dancer, Dance Teacher, Choreographer
  • Bachelor of Arts
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I DON'T LIVE IN AMSTERDAM

My name is Helena, but most call me Helen. I was born in 1991 in a small village in the south of the Netherlands.

I have always been a creative being. I am pretty relaxed and I can be a bit lazy when I am not dancing or working. I like to buy my stuff second hand. Feminist AF. When I'm not busy i like to travel and wander and adventure. I like art, culture and nature in the biggest sense of the word. Enjoy life, live the adventure!

I like to make a cosy and comfortable atmosphere for my guests and myself.

IMPORTANT: If you want to send me a request and you read my profile, start your request/message with an X. So I know you read my profile, thanks. Also tell me why you want to stay with me.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

It is a beautiful way to make friends, learn from different cultures and meet interesting people with interesting stories. I especially like to host travellers! I am curious about your adventures!! Let's share some of our worlds

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE
I have surfed in:

The Netherlands: Rotterdam.
Argentina: Bariloche.
Spain: Malaga, Tarifa, Madrid, Toledo, Granada, Barcelona
Portugal: Lagos, Vila Nova de Milfontes, Porto
Israel: Tel Aviv, Jerusalem, Ein Gedi, Samar, Eilat
Greece: Chania

I had couchsurfers:

2 from Australia.
1 from China.
2 from Andorra.
1 from Turkey.
1 from Italy.
3 from Spain.
1 from the Netherlands.
1 from Germany.
4 from the UK.
1 from Ireland.
1 from Croatia (but lives in London atm).
1 from Malaysia (but lives in Scotland atm).
5 from the USA.
1 from Russia.
1 from Israel.
1 from South Korea.
1 from South Africa.
2 from Poland
2 from Colombia
2 from India

Interests

dance, travelling, acroyoga, hulahooping, longboarding, reading, writing, poetry, art, painting, music, festivals, wildcamping, party, nature, picknicking, swimming, getting lost, sleeping, campfires, skinnydipping, watching the stars and the galaxy, sit on the couch and drink hot tea with some nice music playing. Going to the beach and see the sunset, feminism, surfing, bouldering, paragliding ADVENTURESSSSSSSSSS

  • arts
  • culture
  • writing
  • poetry
  • festivals
  • dancing
  • reading
  • traveling
  • painting
  • music
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • beaches
  • mountains
  • feminism

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: generally arthouse and documentaries... best movie in my opinion is Interstellar.

Music: I listen to lots of different genres! Classical music, folk, old music from the 60'and 70', reggae, indie, singer-songwriter, minimal, jazz, blues, funk, psytrance.
(Janis Joplin, Jimi Hendrix, Passenger, Ed Sheeran, Sigur Ros, Patrick Watson, Yann Tiersen, Chef'Special, Jack Johnson, Black Keys, Ben Howard, Xavier Rudd, Nahko Bear and the Medicine for the People, Daughter, Jefferson Airplane, Random Rab, Kaya Project, Olafur Arnalds, Paper Kites, The Head and the Heart, First Aid Kit, Hilight Tribe, Isbells)

Books:
All Harry Potter - J. K. Rowling
Dina's book - Herbjørg Wassmo.
Wild -Cheryl Strayed.
The Girls - Emma Cline.
Sold - Patricia McCormick
Most of Paulo Coelho.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Recently: paragliding in the Himalaya, Nepal. Cuddling elephants in India. Riding a camel and sleep under the stars in the desert.

Climbed the Preikestolen mountain in Norway. Been to the Nordkapp and saw the midnight sun. I saw whales and seals in the wild. Climbed a glacier and kayaked near the floating ice in a glacierlake. Being in the Andes-mountains in Argentina. Seeing penguins in the wild in Patagonia. South-Africa in general. Travelling solo for 3 months. Floating in the Dead Sea.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can tell you about my travel experiences. I can teach you some dance :)and maybe you can share your dance with me. I would love to learn tango, bellydance and acrobatics. We might share some knowledge or interesting stories about art, science or philosophy. Tell me your vision on life and the world! Share some easy and healthy recipes because I can use that hahaha

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can teach dance and acroyoga, tell you about my travels so far. I am not a very good cook, but I can do the dishes very well :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, India, Israel, Italy, Luxembourg, Monaco, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Netherlands

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Helena’s full profile. It’s free!