Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 9% response rate
  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Helga Dogg’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 5 References 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Icelandic, Norwegian; learning German
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2007
  • Project Manager in Environmental Monitoring
  • PhD in Physical Chemistry
  • From Reykjavík
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Try something new every day

ABOUT ME

Short, red curly hair, fresh and fun :)
Have four children at the age of 14, 5, 3 and 1

If I were to describe my personality I'd say it fits my hair - uncontrollable. I have to try new things, specially if they sound crasy, I have to do what comes to my mind if its doable... and if its not I still just have to find a way to do it.
I'm enthusiastic, not only in doing fun things but also at school, have by now managed to study exactly what I want to study, do research on the things I find the most interesting, gotten to know the people that I wanted to get to know and everything is perfect. And I have a lovely son who always brings light and joy to my life!
Have travelled quite alot (still have not written it here since it will take the time I dont have) and will travel even more. Usually I only travel if I get payed for it, its easyer that way - but now I want to start travelling by myself, not with work - and then I need some places to stay people to meet.
I love showing my country to people who are not from Iceland - specially because I find it so incredably beautyful!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I am willing to offer my couch to people - and the couch has its own room as well :)
However, as we are busy with kids and have a tight schedule doing family stuff we're frequently not able to host people.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Have not yet via this site.
I have a lot of friends all over the world from previous international meetings so until now something like this has been unnecessary for me.
My couch is quite often busy because of all my friends who are over for a visit, but hey - there's always room for one more.

Interests

everything that involves outdoors, culture, landscape, and well... I prefer not partying too much when I travel because that I can do at home anyway. But when travelling I want to experience! (parties are ofcourse a part of the experience but they may not dominate the trip)

  • culture
  • partying
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • science
  • family

Music, Movies, and Books

Neil Gaiman
Tolkien
Terry Pratchett

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Mt. Olympus - the only real mountain I've climbed and it was just great :D 20°C at sea level and -5 on the top!

International student meetings always amaze me - everyone is so open and willing to live for the moment, share the past and learn for the future. I have attended several such meetings, and every time I am amazed.
Now I mostly attend international science conferences - these have the same spirit, just older people :) This is amazing too, when you have scientists from all over the world, from academics as well as industry, working together and sharing their knowledge.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Denmark, England, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Macedonia, Netherlands, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden

Countries I’ve Lived In

Iceland, Norway

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Helga Dogg’s full profile. It’s free!