HENRY WORSLEY's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 91% response rate
  • Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see HENRY’s full profile.

Overview

  • 26 references 23 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Italian; learning Russian
  • 19, Male
  • Member since 2021
  • Student
  • Oxford University
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I love any kind of adventure and novelty, whether that involves exploring a foreign country, completing a great journey or learning a language. History and Italian are my greatest passions, and I am studying both of them at University from 2021. I really enjoy cooking at home; I live on a farm, and often make use of our produce to make fresh pasta, vegetable dishes, etc. Without sounding too hippie, being amongst nature and the changing seasons is something I find gives me a lot of pleasure. I have recently started learning French and reading about the country's medieval history. I would love to learn more about its culture, people and cuisine.

I speak fluent Italian, and French to a conversational level. I can cook Italian cuisine to a high level. I studied history and art history to A-Level and am deeply interested in both. I live on a farm, so I am used to manual labour.

As well as cooking, history and art history, I also really enjoy filmmaking and photography. I have been making short films since I was seven, and occasionally make a short film for my YouTube channel. Recently, most of my photography skills have been focused on portraying food for a cookery book I am writing with my mother.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Since I was very young, I have dreamed (in a slightly idealised way) of travelling to far-away lands and meeting mysterious and exciting new people from different cultures. For me, couch surfing is the perfect medium to immerse myself completely in the local way of life. It also means that I can travel solo without being too lonely.

Interests

  • photography
  • cooking
  • history
  • film
  • arabic
  • french culture
  • italian
  • history of art

Music, Movies, and Books

I love '60s music, especially Rolling Stones, Fleetwood Mac, Four Tops, Jimi Hendrix, etc. (Oh - and the Beatles!)

I don't really have a favourite movie, but I really like stuff by Alfonso Cuaron, like Gravity or Children of Men. I love Birdman as well, and have recently got really into films by Federico Fellini, like LA DOLCE VITA.

I read quite a lot. I love non-fiction travel writing and books on history, but I also like fiction. One of the novels I most enjoyed recently was The Catcher in the Rye.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Earlier this year, I walked 250 miles from Siena to Rome, all on foot. It was a pretty amazing adventure.

Teach, Learn, Share

I would love to teach people Italian, cooking, film or photography. I would also really enjoy learning or talking about history of any nation.

What I Can Share with Hosts

My passion for discovering their culture, my cooking skills, my love and knowledge of History and Italian. A lot of good stories.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bermuda, Egypt, England, France, Georgia, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guernsey, Iraq, Italy, Jamaica, Jordan, Kyrgyzstan, Northern Ireland, Palestine, Scotland, Spain, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Uzbekistan, Vatican City State, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see HENRY’s full profile.