Cloud  Ermanno ☁️☁️'s Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 55% response rate
  • Last login 32 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Cloud’s full profile.

Overview

  • 41 references 33 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese (Simplified), English, Malay; learning French
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2017
  • Clean Energy Research
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

*** Due to many requests received, I only consider personalized requests. ***

I embrace diversity, and having friends of diverse backgrounds worldwide is a strong backbone of my life - thanks to technology that has brought us closer together. I would like to build my life experience by travelling worldwide and establishing bridges.

I welcome international travellers to visit my city and hope to support you within my capabilities. I value mental health, and I hope to offer a safe place for people to share their thoughts or difficulties. Let's create good memories and experiences together.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I value the concept of leaving my comfort zone and meeting new people. With the introduction of various online platforms, accommodation could be affordable, so I think CS is not a platform for a place to stay. I myself utilize CS just to be open and meet more people worldwide to enhance my life experience, even if that requires me to bear some inconveniences.

It is also my goal to be more culturally competent. I am interested in blending into the local community environment and learning about local culture during my travels. Awesome people and cultural learning are the main factors that make my trips more memorable (not the scenery, places, etc.). In my city, I am happy to meet/host travellers who share similar values as mine.

Interests

  • music
  • hiking
  • travel
  • sport
  • water sports
  • networking

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I left a very comfortable environment of mine and moved to another country to live out my dream. That was a transition from a city with 30 deg C to another city with -30 deg C!!! It was a "temperature shock," but now, I am settling well in this lovely country.

Travelling around the world is the best way to develop me better as I believe it allows me to appreciate life better by meeting new people and feeling the support around me.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am an easygoing and flexible person. Depending on the people, I could share a variety of things, from simple chats to more complex things like music, culture, or life stories.

Usually, I am also interested in language exchange. I am very proud to be someone bilingual between English and Chinese, considering the language structures differ significantly. Many people say Chinese is the most difficult language, but do you know that in Chinese, there are:
● NO conjugations
● NO tenses (past/present/future)
● NO singular/plural
● NO articles (the/a/an)
● NO gender (he and she are both pronouced as "ta")
● NO tricky sound (no silent letters etc.)
● NO complicated prepositions (in/on/at/to/of/for...)
● NO complicated numbering (it is really easy to count)
● NO exceptions for the rules written above

Then, how do we express meaning? Of course, Asian and European languages have different ways of expressing things. That is the reason I think one needs to know at least two/three languages (preferably from different continents) to be claimed culturally competent :)

What I Can Share with Hosts

I am happy to offer a souvenir from my place, Chinese food, good chats, good service, and interesting stories. At least, being a good listener is something that I could offer. Living in a world full of stress and anxiety, I always hope to lend my ears to friends and promote good mental health. This is long-term support that continues even after the hosting :)

It is also my principle to take care of any place where I live as my own, and I take hygiene and respect seriously. I also have the strength of writing and talent recognition! I would love to write a strong, SPECIFIC, and impactful reference for my hosts. Writing general references would not help me create good memories :p

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Belgium, Brazil, Colombia, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Panama, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Malaysia, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Cloud’s full profile.