Hawk -Håkon Hobæk-'s Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 20 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Hawk -Håkon’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 72 References 49 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Norwegian
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Developer at Sintef
  • Master's in math, algebra
  • From Skien, Telemark, Norway
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm from a town in Norway, but I have lived most of my grown up life in Oslo.

I love history.
I love traveling and being in other countries.
I love hiking in jungles and mountains.
I love waffles, both making them and eating them :D
I love cross country skiing.

I don't care if you write a personal message or not. I enjoy the randomness of the people I meet. So far I've realized it's impossible to know how you connect before you meet. Some of my best experiences on cs have been the ones with people totally different from me.

PHILOSOPHY

Everything always works out, so don't stress and plan too much:)

"Luck has a peculiar habit of favoring those who do not depend on it" -sign in Laoag, Philippines

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I try to host when I'm in Norway:) And I try to be a nice guest when I surf.
I'm an ok guy to have around, some would even say fun!:)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've had a couple of guests and I've been surfing a couple of times. So far it has worked perfectly and I'm looking forward to my world trip to see how it works on other continents.

Interests

Training, languages, hiking, skiing, history, dancing, karate, running, drinking, books, movies +++

  • dancing
  • running
  • drinking
  • movies
  • chess
  • traveling
  • blogging
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • bungee jumping
  • skiing
  • teaching
  • engineering
  • history
  • languages
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Braveheart, The Last of the Mohicans, Pulp Fiction, Forest Gump, Clerks, reservoir dogs, Dersu Uzala, Superbad, Medicine man, Snatch, Shawshank Redemption, Hang over, Dumb and Dumber, Ace Ventura, Before Sunrise, Ice Age, Shrek, Up, All animated almost + 1000 more

Everything! AC/DC, Metallica, Sheryl Crow, Air, Iron Maiden, Rammstein, Kings of Leon, The Shins, Depeche Mode, Franz Ferdinand, In Flames +++

Egil Skallagrimson saga, Berlin 1945 der Untergang, The Count of Monte Cristo, Conquest of Gaul, The last lion - Winston Churchild, The Involuntary Soldier+++

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I traveled through Asia one year and met fantastic people and cultures!!!!

Lived one year in the north of Norway and experienced many a night outside with stars and northern lights(aurora borealis). Still the most spectacular natural phenomenon I've seen to this day.

Diving with thresher sharks in Malapascua was awesome.

Trans Siberian railway through Russia and Mongolia with a bunch of awesome people!

China! China! If you wanna see one thing before you die; China! A fantastic place! If someone's ever going to kill me, I hope it will be through poisoned Kung Pao Chicken!

Bungee jumping tickled a lot in the belly.

Road tripping in Europe with my 1990 SAAB 900.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can take you cross-country skiing, tell you some useless WW2 info and teach you chess.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Stories and company.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brunei Darussalam, China, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, England, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mongolia, Netherlands, Norway, Philippines, Poland, Puerto Rico, Russian Federation, Saint Martin (French part), Scotland, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Norway

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Hawk -Håkon’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups