Hortense Carrot's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Hortense’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Dutch, Spanish
  • 24, Female
  • Member since 2017
  • internship at Jacob Douwe Egberts
  • Food Science and Technology Master at Wageningen University
  • From San Jose, CA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello, my name is Hortense Carrot, I am a 24 year old Franco-American student in the European Master of Food Studies (EMFS) at Wageningen University.

Being part of the EMFS, I was in a group of 20 students that traveled together every two months to a different university in very international towns. Thus, I got a new set of international housemates every time, increasing my adaptability skills.

The order of my travels are as follows:

1. Wageningen (Fall 2016)

2. Cork, Ireland (January-February 2017)

3. Massy, France (March-April 2017)

4. Lund, Sweden ( May-June 2017)

I thoroughly enjoyed an active social life with all my respective housemates, and have been praised for being very clean and a great baker ( my specialty are french Chouquettes). Right now, I am living in old army kazerns in Ede with nearly 70 students, and am enjoying my last year as a student by partying and hanging as much as possible with them.

I am currently doing my internship and master thesis at Jacob Douwe egberts in Utrecht on coffee compounds and aroma..

My hobbies include running ( I am training for the Utrecht marathon in December) , singing, binge watching Youtube documentaries on my smartphone while working out on the elliptical (two birds one stone: getting fit and smarter at the same time) and watching sitcoms like "friends" and " 2 Broke girls" (helps me find the funny in every situation in real life)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

This master triggered the wanderlust in me. I have a whole year of internship with no studying to do, I want to travel as much as possible and meet as many people as I can.
I have been told I am very south American in my personality, as I am very social and energetic.
Although flixbus and hotels are great, I want to try hitching and couchsurf.

Interests

  • singing
  • documentaries
  • running

Music, Movies, and Books

Unbroken
Angela's Ashes
Our lady of Paris

Not much a movie person, but will binge watch political and social documentaries

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

working as a camp counselor for abused children living on the Phnom Penh dumpster summer 2011 , I had just graduated high school.

living in army kazerns with 70 people

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Cambodia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Ireland, Netherlands, Sweden, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Hortense’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups