Hset Min Htet's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Hset’s full profile.

Overview

  • 12 references 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Burmese, Chinese (Simplified), English; learning Japanese, Thai
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Engineering & Management Student
  • Pursuing Double Degree (Engineering Bachelor & Manage...
  • From Mogok Township, Mandalay, Myanmar
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

See what the world has to offer

ABOUT ME

I'm just a guy who wants to see the world. Since army, especially during the long break before school and semester breaks, I've been traveling a lot and will be traveling more. It'll be cool to meet locals from all over (: When I travel to another country, I want to see the local side of the country, on top of the touristy side and I guess CS is the way to go.

PHILOSOPHY

I believe that only when you are more exposed to the world will you realise how much is there to learn. This is how I found my love for travel and adventure.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I attend and am still in regular contacts with friends I met through CS. Anyone who's coming to Singapore and wants to see the less tourist-y side of Singapore, well I can show you that. Also, when I travel, I also like to meet locals from the area, and a couch too if possible haha. I prefer CS to a Youth Hostel because with CS, you get to see things from a local perspective and get to experience it like they do. And I feel that the sharing of culture, language, and all that between CSers really help to bring the world together.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

So far I've met up CSers in almost every city I visit, and I love to meet up with CSers because I think this shared passion for travel really helps to bring people together. It's like this unspoken, immediate bond that forms that is magical.

I've surfed in Paris, Amsterdam, Berlin, Munich, Venice and Bologna. Also met up with various CSers in many other cities, mostly in Europe and Southeast Asia. I've also brought CSers who come to Singapore around (:

Interests

One thing is for sure: I love to learn. Having new experiences and meeting new people always give me this rush because it make me realise how little I know and how much there is out there to be discovered. That's why I like listening to and sharing stories with others!

I also love to sing, dance and play guitar, both lead and rhythmic. Other than that I do enjoy occasional drinks with friends or just a book in the evening. Above all, I love to discover all things new, be it people, places, culture or more. This always excites me.

I really admire entrepreneurial individuals and hope I'll be there one day (:

Music, Movies, and Books

Rock, Pop, Chart-toppers, Dance, Electro, anything goes but not really a metal fan.
Books-wise, I do carry my Kindle around for popular reads.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Well, I've finished a half marathon. (That was back in my Military Service days though)

I've been in and out of Myanmar for 3 months with the longest trip lasting 3 weeks hitting Yangon, Mandalay, Taunggyi and Inle.

Met a stranger on the train and 20 minutes later, on a kayak with him on the open sea

Teach, Learn, Share

Studying for my degree/masters now and before that, I was in the army for 2 years, love anything Music (sing, guitar, drums, lead,etc), dance (pop&lock, breakdance), culture, startups, nerdy...I mean intellectual stuff

What I Can Share with Hosts

Well I'm a Chinese, born in Myanmar and grew up in Singapore. So guess I can share a bit of each of those things with you, haha.

Countries I’ve Visited

China, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, Myanmar, Netherlands, Philippines, Portugal, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Taiwan, Thailand, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Japan, Myanmar, Singapore, Thailand, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Hset’s full profile.

My Groups