Hugo Houel's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 8 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Hugo’s full profile.

Overview

  • 14 references 11 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Spanish
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Business Analyst
  • Engineer
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello guys, welcome to my profile! I define myself as an open-minded, earth-caring, adventurous person and a musician.

I have spent most of my life in my beloved home country, France, in various cities like Paris, Marseille, Rennes, or Aix-en-Provence. I received a general engineering education.

I love to sail, spend a day outside, gather with people I love, explore France and abroad, discover artists, read all kinds of books and talk about them, talk about spirituality.

I traveled during 14 months in 2017-2018 in America, starting by sailing through the Atlantic. In 2021 - 2023, I took 2 years off. I played piano with my jazz band and volonteered in a cruising school in France as a sailing instructor. I also volonteered with an NGO (Sea Sheperd) protecting marine wildlife, and traveled in Asia.

I am currently living in my home town, Aix en Provence (in the city center - can be noisy- 10 minutes walking from the bus station), and work as an IT consultant / business analyst.

If you request to stay at my place, please include "Charlie Parker loved Chicken" in your message :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

When sedentary, CS allows to meet people from all over the world, and to offer back the hospitality I received while travelling. When travelling, it's a way to connect with locals and learn their way of doing things.

Interests

  • literature
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • chess
  • music
  • sailing

Music, Movies, and Books

Authors : Celine, Borges, Lovecraft, Proust, Casares, Poe, Salinger

Music : Jazz, Salsa, Techno, Classical, old French songs

Movies : Into the wild, Benjamin Button, Batman begins, the way of the peaceful warior

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Doing a 10 days buddhist meditating retreat in silence.

Going to the gym and not gaining muscles. Loosing my hair day after day.

Teach, Learn, Share

Cooking (definitely on the learning side), piano jazz and music theory, sailing and knots, chess, meditation

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Brazil, Bulgaria, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Denmark, Ecuador, Germany, Guatemala, Honduras, Italy, Mauritius, Mexico, Morocco, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Saint Martin (French part), Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Senegal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay

Countries I’ve Lived In

France

Join Couchsurfing to see Hugo’s full profile.