Logo orange

Hugo Lee

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Hugo's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 7 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, German
  • 21, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • No occupation listed
  • Complete Steiner Education
  • From Sydney
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Share the love of music, life and barefoot running!

ABOUT ME

Hey! I come from Sydney, Australia.
Before you read all my info, you will get a good idea of who I am by having a listen to my music! https://soundcloud.com/hugoleemusic/sets/flourishes-of-light
This solo album was inspired by my gap year travels in 2012 and has one tune composed and recorded for each month.
During 2012 I traveled through Europe in search of new places, new friends and musicians willing to jam, busk and perform with me!

I play many instruments including the saxophone, guitar, electric/upright bass, harmonica and recorder. The styles that I play range from classical and traditional music through to jazz, latin, blues, funk, pop and rock-I am willing to give anything a go :-)

I have teaching experience in both the saxophone and guitar, and also have spent time tutoring maths, english and german.
I am a vegetarian, but otherwise eat pretty much anything and am excited to try food of different cultures. I also love to cook!

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have had a great couchsurfing experience so far, mostly in Berlin and Prague, where I met locals and fellow travelers. It gave me a much greater insight into the joys of traveling.

Interests

You could say that my two main interests are music (playing, composing, performing, recording...) and outdoor activities.
For me, busking has been a great way to showcase my playing, meet new people, entertain the public and of course make money!

I spend a large amount of time composing and recording music for a wide variety of instruments, ranging from the saxophone and guitar, to the sitar and tabla.
I play in a band with my friends in Sydney, but whilst travelling I have also had the pleasure of performing with many European musicians, including:

-The Jazz Bar house trio (Edinburgh)
-Aki Remally/101st Airborne (Funk/Soul, Edinburgh)
-The Kennel Wages (Rock'n'Roll/Blues, Edinburgh)
-The Blues Bar house band (Harrogate)
-Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars (Rock'n'Roll/Blues Harrogate)
-RFG (Rock/Punk/Metal, Harrogate)
-Zebra Crossing (Shrewsbury)

So whether it's for a campfire singalong or an energetic pub gig, I'll have a great time providing musical entertainment!

I also love spending time outdoors- camping, hiking, bike riding, rock climbing and barefoot running are but a few of my favourite activities, and I am always willing to try something new!

Music, Movies & Books

Some musicians/bands I particularly enjoy include Pink Floyd, Led Zeppelin, The Rolling Stones, John Coltrane, Miles Davis, The Cat Empire, The John Butler Trio and Supertramp.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

In 2011, a friend and I ran The Six Foot Track- 45km of mountain running from the Explorers' Tree to the Jenolan Caves in the Blue Mountains, NSW. It was extremely exhausting but just as rewarding, and has inspired the desire to run more mountain marathons- anyone keen? :D

Countries I've Visited

Germany, United Kingdom, Vanuatu

Countries I've Lived In

Australia

Join Couchsurfing to see Hugo's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile