Hugues Vaillancourt's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Hugues’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Spanish
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Research agent in healthcare
  • Master degree in nutrition/dietetics
  • From Saint-André, Québec, Canada
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I believe that real traveling and greatest experiences/events comes from being exposed to unknown, unfamiliar, undetermined, etc. Then, meeting new people, people we could not have met in our day-to-day "determined" life in the city we lived in, is one of the richest experience we can live.

Interests

Food, wine, microbrewery beers, spirits... than food again, wine, beers, spirits, food, wine, beers, spirits... Got it!? Yeah, I believe I'm part of those foodies people. I am always really "hungry" to learn about cooking techniques, to taste previously unknown various foods and traditional meals, to enjoy grape varieties in wine, to go to restaurants and bar, etc.

  • dining
  • cooking
  • wine
  • beer
  • traveling
  • guitar
  • cycling
  • camping

Music, Movies, and Books

I enjoy every kind of music, but I have a major preference for folk/rock and progressive rock (70s style) music. Therefore, I'm a huge fan of bands such as Radiohead, White Stripes (Jack White), Bon Iver, Genesis, Pink Floyd, Led Zeppelin, Black Keys, Audioslave, etc. I listen to a lot of French music from Québec province, which you probably have not heard about...!

Movies? Well... let's begin by mentionning Christopher Nolan and Coen brothers. After that, you'll probably guess easily the kind of storytelling I like to see on screen!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I can ride a unicycle! I can teach you how to do... but I guess you will have to find one if we meet in your hometown...! I can also ride a bike backwards being sat on the handlebar, so I guess that would be easier than trying to find a unicycle ;-)

I've done bike-camping with a friend in 2011 from Québec to Sept-Îles, which results in 600 km in 5 days... and some sunburns and muscle pains! Haven't repeat the experience since, but still thinking about potential plans to repeat this experience... Québec-Boston? American West Coast, California? Côte d'Azur? Italia? Hum...

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach some basics skills on guitar. Never followed a guitar course (I've learned by myself with help from ressources on the Internet), but been playing for nearly 10 years.

I can teach you a little bit of French, why not?! Living as a French speaking person in the north american ocean of English speaking people, I'm one of those people deeply pround to assert and to share the beauty of his native language.

What I Can Share with Hosts

It will be a real pleasure for me to show you great places in Quebec City. I am really proud of living in this city, so rest assure a got a full of things to share with you.

Countries I’ve Visited

Croatia, Cuba, France, Hungary, Italy, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Hugues’s full profile. It’s free!