IDAU85's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see IDAU85’s full profile.

Overview

  • 35 references 27 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Vietnamese, Yue (Cantonese); learning French, Spanish
  • 36, Female
  • Member since 2005
  • Graduate nursing student
  • BA Finance/Biochemistry and MHSA in Health Service Admin
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

*I do not take requests less than 1 week of notice*

I am a full-time graduate nursing student. I have flexibility but do not have time to hang out or show you around town. I can help provide tips and bounce ideas off of though.

When you send a request, I ask that you provide an estimated time of arrival and departure. Please feel free to send me an advance request. I am happy to entertain any requests as far as 6 months in advance. I currently cannot accommodate last-minute requests. If your request is less than 1-week notice, please do not contact me. I will most likely cannot accommodate you.

Having been on CS since 2005, I have enjoyed every minute of it. I have couchsurfed since college and continues to do so because it provides a unique experience to meet local people. The experience(s) is something that I remember most looking back, the memories and personality of my hosts at each location I visited. I have been the recipient of many kind and generous hosts from all over the world. Now it's my turn to return the favor. I hope that you would consider being a host when you are settled.

I have been a host both in Minneapolis as well as Washington DC where I attended college and graduate school. Which has helped me stay in touch with the CS community.

CURRENT MISSION

To enjoy my life and the journey. Become a certified nurse. Then possible a nurse anesthetist.

ABOUT ME

I love to travel and be adventurous. I can't wait to experience the culture, country and meet the people.

I enjoy gardening, pets, staying active and volunteering.

I volunteer in my community by participating in a local community garden, where I grow food for the local food shelf. I also volunteer once a month at a family law clinic at a women shelter, to help end domestic violence. During the school year, I am a liaison to a local exchange student through AFS. I enjoy helping my student and have worked with students from Japan, Austria, Argentina, Switzerland, Germany, Norway, and Italy.

I am easygoing and am always up to trying new things. I love to travel and get to know the local area, as well as people.

PHILOSOPHY

To take the road less travel by.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have hosted before, I also couch surf during my past travel experiences. I enjoy meeting people from all walks of life.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have hosted people and have been a surfer as well.

I have had great experiences with couchsurfing. It provides a much richer experience than staying at a hotel or hostel. I was an exchange student twice (France and Costa Rica) so that have stayed with me when I travel and host. Some of my previous guests became lifelong friends, and I was able to visit them in their country.

Interests

Traveling, reading, film, sports, animals and music.

  • animals
  • pets
  • culture
  • dining
  • cooking
  • gardening
  • technology
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • sports
  • medicine
  • science
  • volunteering
  • solo travel
  • group travel
  • budget travel
  • travel

Music, Movies, and Books

I like all kinds of music. Because I am taking classes, I don't have as much time devoted to reading for enjoyment. Unfortunately, most of the time I am reading medical textbooks.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have studied abroad in Costa Rica and France. I have been to: Belize, Jamaica, Mexico, France, Italy, Spain, Belgium, Viet Nam, Japan and of course many states in the US.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am currently in the middle of a career transition. I am leaving data science to pursue medicine.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I enjoy cooking and can make great Vietnamese dishes. I can share my experiences about any of the countries I have visited. I love animals and would enjoy meeting your pets as well, if you have any.

Countries I’ve Visited

Afghanistan, Argentina, Belgium, Belize, Brazil, Canada, China, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, England, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Haiti, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Luxembourg, Mexico, Monaco, Morocco, Netherlands, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Costa Rica, France, United States, Viet Nam

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see IDAU85’s full profile.

My Groups