Igors Dubanevics's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 4 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Igors’s full profile.

Overview

  • 12 references 11 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Latvian, Russian; learning Chinese, Japanese
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2018
  • Research Assistant
  • University of York
  • From Latvia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am a PhD student in evolutionary biology at OIST (Okinawa). Before moving to Japan, I've studied in the UK and during a break beetween the studies sung with a local big band in Latvia.

Currently, I can't host anyone since I'm living in a shared flat.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

It’s about people, at least that what the first users where saying. Times have chaned but I belive there a place for authenticity here. Moreover, it’s a fun way to travel and share what you’ve learned so far be it some crucial experience or a stupid joke that makes you laugh.

Interests

  • dancing
  • cooking
  • reading
  • music
  • jazz
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • science
  • nature

Music, Movies, and Books

Raised on contemporary pop music, I dig all generes and J-pop is one of them (Check out Vaundy, Aimer, and Mrs. GREEN APPLE).
At the university, I had been exposed to classical music and jazz and fell in love with it. Now, music is my hobby and I’m seriously consider giving it a go after the PhD.

Kubrick, Tarantino, and Nolan are my contemporary favs but I prefer watching movies that are less well known but damn good, e.g. Captain Fantastic, or Woody Allen’s stuff (though his personal life, ehh, is controversial).

And, books... Such an invention! I like stories by Tolstoy, Chekov, and Hemingway (“The Old Man and the Sea” is far the greatest).
Books by Richard Dawkins set me on a journey of learning about human/animal behaviour and evolution.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Organized and hosted a science Christmas lecture at my hometown highschool for early graders. I was too detailed in my explanations but had an arsenal of cool experiments with dry ice and liquid nitrogen. In the end kids loved it and I did another one the following year.

Teach, Learn, Share

- My language and culture, and why my name has an “s” in the end.
- Want to learn anything craftsy what you do with hands.
- Experince of living in Okinawa.

Note If you ask locals and mainland Japanese, Okinawa is not Japan 🙃

What I Can Share with Hosts

- Music 🎸
- Cook an Okinawan dish 🗾
- Conversations with goood beer🍻

Countries I’ve Visited

Azerbaijan, Belarus, Estonia, Georgia, Japan, Lithuania, Netherlands, Poland, Russian Federation, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Japan, Latvia, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Igors’s full profile.

My Groups