Iida-MariaKarki's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Iida-MariaKarki’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 14 References 10 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Finnish; learning French, German
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • waitering, catering,
  • Learning through living
  • From Oulu, Northern Ostrobothnia, Finland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Big Adventure in USA is happily over. So fast flew weeks from late September to Mid December 2015. I was helping out in couple farms through Workaway, in Minnesota and Nebraska. I spent one nice week in Chicago in the beginning, one rainy and easygoing weekend in St.Paul in the middle of my homes and quick pitstop in Denver while heading to Nebraska. Country music is stuck in my head forever.. "Burning house" expecially!!

Beginning of June 2015, I was traveling low-cost around England: Manchester and London, wondering all the bridges of Newcastle and hiking in Holyrood in Edinburgh. Such amazing trip and so many nice Couchsurfers I met!

June in UK lead to one fabulous summer in Helsinki. So many lovely moments with travelers from all around the World! I started so many evenings with total strangers, and now I can say I have friends all over. :) Exactly what I love about Couchsurfing.

I'm glad I have had safe and secure home, but in past few years I have noticed that getting to know all kinds of people, has taught me so much in life. Understanding and appreciating all things in life and all different kind of people.

We never know what we are gonna get, but we should be happy for all we get. Through experiences we grow, and hopefully towards the best version of us.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Sharing stories, being happy and cheerful, helping with anything I can. :)

I love food, so of course I wanna introduce Finnish food culture to all! Giving everyone some salmiakki to taste ;) Maybe teaching how to make Karelian pies, "Karjalan piirakka", spinach soup Finnish style, "Pinaattikeitto", or just Finnish crepes, "Lätyt".

Making positive impact and telling wonderful things from my own travels around my home Finland and the whole of Europe.

Interests

Life around the World
Cultural similarities and differences
History and it's effects on today
Food and sweets, for necessity and pleasure
Photographing nature wonders, seeing the beauty in things
Nature - keeps surprising me every day!!
Cooking - love to share recipes and the joy of creating together
Dogs have always paw spots in my heart
Cats want to be spoiled, and love to sleep over my tummy.
Horses whisper behind the ear, scrunching hay, soft and warm chub
Dancing - joy, laughter, friends, music,
Enjoying life
Decoration - beauty, love and life reflected in home

  • pets
  • cats
  • dogs
  • horses
  • culture
  • beauty
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • recipes
  • sauna
  • walking
  • crafts
  • traveling
  • cars
  • music
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • history

Music, Movies, and Books

Country music, hip hop, rap, pop, soul, blues, rock n' roll and dance music ;)

Narnia, The Hobbit -book, Midwifes Confessions

The Lord of The Rings, The Notebook, The Blind spot, Forrest Gump, Inception, Memento,

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Going straight from sauna in to a really quiet and calm lake, and swimming in moonlight just a few ducks accompanying me. Enjoying the evening mist settling above the lake.

Making it the the top of Arthurs Seat, in Holyrood, Edinburgh. I wasn't supposed to hike at all, just decided when I saw it. Winner feeling in the top!

Overcome my fear for cable cars and went to the highest balcony(about 2930m) of Zugspitze (2964m) highest point of Germany.

Teach, Learn, Share

I would love to inspire and help as much as I can: cooking, crafts, kids and pets whatever makes you as a host happy!

Let's enjoy hiking, walking and just sharing time and mutual interests, thats the best. ;)

What I Can Share with Hosts

I wanna surprise my hosts with a bit of Finland. Useful or edible stuff, so odds and ends don't crowd the home. Hope my visit will be remembered at least for that tiny moment my gift is gonna last.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Russian Federation, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Finland, Germany

Join Couchsurfing to see Iida-MariaKarki’s full profile. It’s free!