Ilana Walder-Biesanz's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login almost 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ilana’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 5 References 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Italian, Spanish; learning French, Hebrew (modern), Japanese
  • 24, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Student
  • Engineering (B.S.), literature (M.A.)
  • From Portland, OR, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm a young student (21, as of March). While I trained as an engineer in undergrad (in Massachusets), I went on to get a Master's degree in European literature (in England). I'm now on a research year in Germany, focusing on opera and theater studies. It probably goes without saying that I love opera and theater, and try to see as much of it as I can. (I also sing opera, but I promise not to sing in your flat if you don't want me to.) I'm also a big fan of books and of food---reading local novels and trying the local cuisine are important parts of travel to me!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'll be back in the U.S. next year, so I am trying to travel in Europe as much as possible! But I'm on a small stipend, so I am also trying to travel on a budget. Couchsurfing seems like a great way to both have a place to stay and meet awesome hosts from the cities I'm visiting. I'd be super-excited to visit restaurants, museums, operas, or other local attractions with people in the know. (That said, if all I can get is a couch, that's a great help, too.) I'm brand new on couchsurfing, but you can see my AirBnB references here: https://www.airbnb.com/users/reviews?review_id=26247722.

Interests

Opera, theater, food, literature, puzzles

  • books
  • literature
  • singing
  • theater
  • dining
  • cooking
  • reading
  • traveling
  • puzzles
  • opera
  • teaching
  • engineering
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

I'm a huge fan of Romantic authors---Hugo, Dumas, Sand, Schiller, Goethe, and so on. I also love classic films. (Casablanca might be my favorite, if I have to choose.) As far as music goes, it's all opera. Mozart's La clemenza di Tito is my favorite opera, but Verdi is my favorite composer overall.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

When I was twelve years old, I was the sole teacher for a class of second-graders for six weeks. In Spanish.

Teach, Learn, Share

I love sharing my favorite books and my opera knowledge. I also enjoy practicing languages---either improving or helping others improve.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can cook a delicious galette (and many other items). I can help you practice any languages I speak. I can sing opera for you (only if you want)! I can give you a floor to crash on in Munich in return. I can copy-edit English text. I can fix many computer problems (not all---no promises).

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Guatemala, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, Germany, Honduras, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Ilana’s full profile. It’s free!