Logo orange

Heidi Ahola

Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Heidi's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 26 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Finnish; learning Bulgarian, German, Russian, Spanish, Swedish, Ukrainian
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • No occupation listed
  • BA @ University of Helsinki
  • From Posio, Lapland, Finland
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To consume less

ABOUT ME

I grew up in a dead small town of less than 4000 inhabitants in Finnish Lapland. I loved the silence and the beautiful nature around me, but I always craved to see how life was like somewhere else. I've loved traveling since my childhood. To me, it equals joy, it equals freedom, it equals knowing my roots and searching for my own place on Earth. I'm not planning to stay in Finland for my whole life. I want to live abroad (already did and will do it again).I love summer and heat more than anything. Finnish winter is sweet but wayyy too long for me. I'm at my best in summer time.

PHILOSOPHY

Live when you've got life to live, love when you've got love to give.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Surf n' host!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Had only good hosts and good guests. Can't wait to meet more of them.

Interests

Literature, languages(especially Russian), feminism, sociology, basketball, muay thai, ice skating, gym, vegetarian food, coffee, traveling, nature, Lapland, partying, Balkans, Eastern Europe, Russia and the 1960s.

Music, Movies & Books

Music:

Writers:
Sylvia Plath, Hemingway, Eino Leino, Daniil Kharms, Dostoevski, Solzhenitsyn, M. Ageyev, Irvine Welsh, and so on.

Movies:
Anything from Lynch. Or Tarantino.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Lived in Russia. Nothing beats a good summer with friends in Saint Petersburg.
Lived in the Balkans, loved it.

Also, this:
visited 33 states (14.6%)Create your own visited map of The World or Amsterdam travel guide for Android

Teach, Learn, Share

I want to learn Turkish or Albanian, seriously. Also, I wanna become a better hitchhiker! Always eager to hear people's hitchhiking stories.
I can teach you how to ice skate, ski, avoid mosquito bites, drive on snow and ice, or speak Finnish, and a thousand of other things!

Countries I've Visited

Albania, Armenia, Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Kosovo, Latvia, Macedonia, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, San Marino, Serbia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, Ukraine, Vatican City State

Countries I've Lived In

Bulgaria, Finland, Russian Federation

Join Couchsurfing to see Heidi's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile