Ilya Elbert's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ilya’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 19 References 10 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Russian; learning Spanish
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Business Owner - Technology Staffing and Support
  • University of Massachusetts in Amherst
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

UPDATE: I just moved to Austin. While i'm a new host here, and don't know this city as well as some others, I can still integrate you into the couchsurfing community and we can do fun things. I know most of the community and see them on a regular basis so there is always someone doing something fun.

UPDATE: Profile is being edited after moving from Boston to Austin so please don't mind the inconsistencies :).

I'm a Russia-born computer guy that decided life was too short to live it behind a computer desk.

When I'm free I'm big on going out at night to lounges and rooftops with a great views, swimming in pools as well as trying realy good food, going to music concerts, and especially EDM shows. I also like to walk around the city, walk around the parks and go to other cities for a day trip.

INTERESTS
nightlife, museums, food, public speaking (Toastmasters), psychology, reading.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

PLEASE READ THIS WHOLE SECTION

Currently, I am an active host, and I enjoy hosting couchsurfers I would like to do fun things with, during the evenings and weekend day times. I see couchsurfing as a cultural exchange. If you are staying during the week, then during the day, I will ask you to be independent, but I will be able to show you around in the evening. If you are coming for the weekend, then I can give you a tour of Austin or introduce you to the couchsurfing community here. There is always someone doing something exciting. On friday and saturday night, we are usually out until 2-3am.

I'm also a big fan of all types of electronic dance music, so if you're a dj passing through, an EDM or house music lover, and you'd like to go to some shows, or find out what's playing, feel free to message me.

I prefer to host up to 1 person, and up to 2 nights at a time MAX.

Please help keep couchsurfing amazing, by writing AMAZING and customized messages, only to hosts that you genuinely want to spend time with and by reading this :)

I adhere to this post, and I ask that you do as well.

http://francistapon.com/Travels/Advice/How-to-be-a-Good-Couchsurfing-Guest-and-Host

Please read this article on how to write a good couchsurfing request.
https://support.couchsurfing.org/hc/en-us/articles/200640010-How-do-I-write-a-good-couch-request-

RULES OF THE HOUSE

Please keep my apartment cigarette free

Please speak a language I can understand, in my house (English or Russian) :).

Please be ready to go out and have some fun at night if you are here on a friday or saturday night. This means please try not to drink heavily or become underslept from partying too much the night before you arrive.

Please ask everyone in your party to fill out a couchsurfing profile and send me a hello so I can see who they are.

Please send me a facebook or instagram link of everyone in your party, so I can get to know you a little bit better :)

Please try to arrive between 4-8pm and definitely let me know your approximate arrival time as accurately as possible, and alert me right away of any changes.

Please leave the place CLEANER than you found it :)

Please leave something from your culture I can hang on the wall, to remember you or your culture by.

Please put my keyword 'i read this' in your couchsurfing request subject. Requests without this, will unfortunately be denied :(.

I'm really looking forward to meeting you.

Interests

Music Shows
Reading
Traveling
Museums

  • festivals
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • chocolate
  • coffee
  • walking
  • clubbing
  • shopping
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • cycling
  • rock climbing
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

EDM
House
Gattaca
100 years of solitude

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Lying on the beach in Lloret De Mar in Spain and watching a castle that was glowing in the dark.

Eating chocolate at a Lviv chocolatier shop in Odessa.

Electric Forest Music Festival

Ibiza

Teach, Learn, Share

I can show you some amazing local food
I can take you to EDM/house music/nightlife
I can show you some rooftop lounges with a view.
around the city
I can show you around the city (walking tour)

What I Can Share with Hosts

Coffee
Tea
Kitchen for cooking
Rooftop Pool
Gym
Business Center

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, France, Spain, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Russian Federation, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Ilya’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups