Imogen McRoberts's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Imogen’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 4 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Postgraduate student
  • University of Manchester
  • From London, England, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I have lived in Manchester for around 8 years now but grew up in London. I came to Manchester to study Art History and Visual Culture and have not yet left. It is a really great city with friendly inhabitants and lots going on. I would like move abroad at some point in the near future though - to get a feel for a new place and it's culture.

I currently work for a charity running an older people's project based in a community centre. It's really engaging work but can be stressful at times. I am working on a social history project at the moment, getting older people living in Manchester to talk to me about their experiences of the city from both the past and the present. I believe everyone has a story to tell and it's wonderful to hear the insights and stories of generation different to my own.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I hitchhiked through Europe one summer with a friend. We camped for the most part but she introduced me to couch surfing and we used it a couple of times when passing through the cities. We ended up travelling much further on a budget because of it and met some great people too.

I think couch surfing makes travel more accessible and has enhanced my experience of it, particularly as you get to meet people you wouldn't otherwise interact with and gain insight into places and cultures because of it.

In my previous house we hosted some couch surfers (on my housemates account) who were passing through Manchester. It was great because we got to hear about their experiences travelling and their plans for more.

Interests

I really love art, music and film. I studied Art History and Visual Culture at University as well as taking an Art Foundation course when I was younger (specialising in sculpture) and, more recently, a print making course. I don't seem to make much art anymore but I do still enjoy it and will occasionally make a sketch or do a collage.

I've been learning about permaculture recently and have started to help out on a friend's allotment, growing food and using it to make jams, chutneys, cordials and cakes. This has been a great learning experience for me and so rewarding too. I am starting to grow veg in my own garden (mainly courgettes, beans, spring onions, dill and other edible flowers). I'm also planning on building a pond this summer in order to attract more wildlife to the garden. I think it's really important to re-engage with nature, particularly when you live in the city and this is a small way in which I can do it everyday.

Another thing that I really love is cycling. I cycle pretty much everywhere in Manchester, through all the seasons. I'm planning on cycling around Europe at some point next year as I think it will be a great way to travel, to see sites that I otherwise wouldn't see and meet people I wouldn't usually come across.

  • arts
  • culture
  • cooking
  • baking
  • running
  • gardening
  • music
  • cycling
  • swimming
  • art history
  • ecology
  • history
  • volunteering
  • travelling
  • permaculture
  • film
  • soul
  • community
  • hiphop
  • renaissance

Music, Movies, and Books

I really love music, I like to go to gigs and to dance. Favourite genres include dub, reggae, hip hop, soul, funk, disco, garage.

My boyfriend Dan has a large vinyl collection in the house with a great taste in music too. He tends to provide the soundtrack to my life, morning, noon to night.

I love to read but don't manage to read as much as I'd like too. One of the best books I've recently read is 'A Brief History of Seven Killings' by Marlon James. One of my favourite classics is 'To Kill a Mockingbird' and one of the best short stories is 'Running in the Family' by Micheal Ondaatje. I'm definitely open to book recommendations, particularly books that have been translated into English.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I will be carrying mixtapes and collages on my trip to leave with anyone who hosts me. I'd also be happy to cook a meal for them or take them out for a coffee/drink to say thanks!

Countries I’ve Visited

Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Russian Federation, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, United Kingdom, Zimbabwe

Join Couchsurfing to see Imogen’s full profile. It’s free!