Logo orange

Valerie Pochko

Wrocław, Lower Silesian Voivodeship, Poland

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Valerie's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 24 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Russian, Ukrainian; learning French, German, Polish, Spanish, Turkish
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Journalist, art student, hitch-hiker...
  • MA in Journalism and Media Studies. ...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To be mindful and enjoy every single moment of my life.

ABOUT ME

Love people with no claim to mutuality. Addicted to dystopias, unjustified actions and friday misbehaviour.

PHILOSOPHY

Wish to stop regretting of anything and being afraid of making a mistake. Fond of breaking the standards, learning from people and offering my own experience in return. Love meeting, trying, going, watching, reading, showing and sharing.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I couln't even imagine, that there are so many people in the world who want to visit Ukraine:) Back home, I used to host quite a lot. Now I'm an alien in a new city and hope to meet as many locals and fellow "aliens" as possible.

Speaking about my hosting philisophy, I just try to be the best host ever, and if I have time, I can invent a REALLY interesting programme. Can only hope that people, who stay with me, are crazy enough to perform that.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I had a great experience with my guests. Two sushi parties, staying up late in the ukrainian bars with free alcohol from the bartenders, visiting churches and a mosque, night trips in the taxi, crazy dances, so-called "language clubs", roofing, and intercultural food evenings. Always open to new impressions!

Interests

arthouse films, film festivals, hanging around at night with a bottle of wine, Family Guy, South Park, Kyiv, buying shitloads of books, long hair, late evening confessions, going above and beyond, hitch-hiking, debating hotly, cooking parties, chinese boxes, unplanned trips, moderate perfectionism, applied philosophy, contemporary & conceptual art, modern theatre, living for impressions, being an actress, bouts of immaturity, learning languages, dancing and singing everywhere, table tennis, sleeping, colourful socks & scarfs, sending postcards, online education, psychology, mental freedom

Music, Movies & Books

Films: Poison Ivy, Girl Interrupted, The Sleepers, Butterfly Effect, Dreamers, Virgin Suicides, Requiem for a Dream, Powder, Fight Club, What eats Gilbert Grape?, Clockwork Orange, Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind, The notebook, Total eclipse, 21 gram, Moulain Rouge, Edward Scissorhands, The Bubble movie, The empty house (by Kim Ki-duk), The Royal battle, La fille sur le pont, The Vanilla sky, Breathe (By Kim Ki-duk), Cruel intentions, Le scaphandre et le papillon

Books: Atlas Shrugged, The Fountainhead, Virgin Suicides, Middlesex, Triumphal Arch, Lord of the Flies, 1984, Brand New World, Clockwork Orange, Nude Lunch, poems by Charles Boudelaire and Mayakovsky, everything by John Irving and Kurt Vonnegut, Theatre of absurd, surrealism, existentialism.

Music: Panic! At the Disco, The Cranberries, The Queen, SOAD, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Papa Roach,Green Day, The Offspring, Bloodhound Gang, Daft Punk, Korn, Sum 41, 30 seconds to Mars, 5'nizza, Tracktor Bowling, Jane Air, Pain, Flёur, Oasis, The Strokes, Arctic Monkeys, The Beatles, Kaiser Chiefs, Blur, Keane, Garbage, MGMT, Moby, U2, ZAZ, Nouvelle Vague, Pink Martini

One Amazing Thing I've Done

- Hitch-hiked about 5 500 kilometres around Balkans
- Went for rafting in a cold Norwegian river
- Pursued my dream and moved to Berlin
- Got a job at Google:)

Teach, Learn, Share

-Playing mafia game
-Cooking some ukrainian dishes
- Teambuilding games
- Playing saxophone and clarinette
- Practising russian and ukrainian languages
- Ping-pong (used to play well, not sure now)
- Singing (not teach, but definitely support :)

Countries I've Visited

Albania, Armenia, Belarus, Bulgaria, France, Germany, Italy, Montenegro, Norway, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Turkey

Countries I've Lived In

Germany, Poland, Ukraine

Join Couchsurfing to see Valerie's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile