Dan Spinner

Shanghai, Shanghai, China

Accepting Guests

  • 95% response rate
  • Last login 39 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Dan’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Chinese, French, German, Italian
  • 40, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Previously worked in education and tourism, now back to w...
  • To postgraguate level
  • From Luton, UK (yes, where the airport is!)
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me


To stop letting life slip by without doing and seeing the things I want to do and see!


I'm a 39 year-old single guy with a good sense of humour and an appetite for variety in life. I get bored easily! I recently moved to Shanghai and I'm looking forward to being able to travel in China and around Asia. I'm gay but I wouldn't say it's the most important part of who I am.


Live for the day, but plan lots of fun things to look forward to :-)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I hosted quite a few people before travelling and then met a lot of great hosts on the road. I can't host all the time as it all depends on my work schedule.


I enjoyed inviting people into my home and showing them around my local area of Greenwich and then got to meet a bunch of amazing hosts in North America and Europe. I've found I've got on with chattier people the best as well as those who have come with the intention of spending at least some time together.


Music, especially rock of all varieties, cinema, travel, theatre, theme parks, cycling.

visited 31 states (13.7%)Create your own visited map of The World or Brazil travel guide for Android

Music, Movies, and Books

Music - 70s and 80s hard rock and metal, 90s indie and Britpop/Britrock, lots of classic pop too and the Eurovision Song Contest!

Bands I love that you have probably heard of: Aerosmith, Guns N' Roses, Abba, Led Zeppelin, Muse, Garbage, Rammstein, Pulp, Blur, Blondie, David Bowie

Bands I love that you probably haven't heard of:
The Wildhearts, Thunder, Cake, Dogs D'Amour, Do Me Bad Things, Hanoi Rocks, Backyard Babies, Ska-P

Movies - BIG fan of horror, even if most of it is bad, and I love non-mainstream/independent/world cinema.

Famous films I love: Carrie, Poltergeist, Rocky Horror Picture Show, Gremlins, Shaun Of The Dead, Women On The Verge Of A Nervous Breakdown

Cult films I love: Hedwig And The Angry Inch, The Warriors, Clue, Nueve Reinas

Books - not a huge devourer of literature, but enjoy a good thriller. Also love reading travel guides and dreaming about the next destination.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Being chased by rogue fireworks at La Corda in Valencia, Spain. Reverse bungee-jumping was pretty intense too!

Teach, Learn, Share

I am a qualified language teacher (English, Spanish, French, Italian), so I can help you with your languages.

What I Can Share with Hosts

A respectful attitude, lots of laughs and a little token of my appreciation.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Hungary, Ireland, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, Germany, Italy, Poland, Spain, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Dan’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups