Ingrid Ramsoy's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ingrid’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, Norwegian, Spanish; learning French, Italian, Swedish
  • 36, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • I'm a PhD candidate at Malmö University in Migration and ...
  • I'm a social anthropologist by profession, training, and ...
  • From Born and mostly raised in Bergen, Norway, but lived abroad a lot
  • Profile 55% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Find my way.. I recently made a big life decision and moved to Malmö, Sweden for work, a place I had no previous relationship with. Things are going really well and my objective is to grow as much as possible, both professionally and personally.

ABOUT ME

I love to learn, and to understand. I'm very analytical, and I guess that's why I ended up in my current job as a PhD candidate. I want to get to the bottom of things, which is why I enjoy travelling "through people" much more than just going to a place to sightsee.

I love languages, but I'm a lazy language student and seem only to be able to learn when I'm talking with people, not sitting in a classroom (although I can talk for hours about grammar and etymology!).

My upcoming PhD project will be on Bolivian migration to Spain and I will be doing fieldwork in both places. I have not yet been to Bolivia, so I'm very excited about that!

As a child I lived abroad for a few years due to my father's work, and I think this profoundly marked the paths I've taken later in life, both personally and in terms of studies and profession. For better or for worse I'm a bit nomadic by nature, although I do feel a strong belonging to my hometown and my people there. Time will tell where I end up!

In general I'm an easy-going person who likes to talk with people and just hang out, go for a beer, some food, maybe dance, etc. I'm a quite sporadic athlete, but when I get into e.g. running I do enjoy it a lot. On my list of things to learn is yoga! And rollerblading! I also miss the mountains of my hometown and the immediate access to nature; looking down from a mountain top has a way of filling me with emotion.. Aiii! And yeah also, after spending many years back and forth to the Basque Country of Spain I've also become quite the foodie, and I love good cooking and experimenting with flavors.

I think that's about it for now!

PHILOSOPHY

Time is essential.. Meaning in order to know something or someone that is what you need to invest. I want to become better at living in the moment, be more aware, instead of thinking about the future. In other words, channel my energy into the here and now!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I haven't really participated yet. I've only had a profile for a few months, but I haven't really used it. I would love to get more into it!

Interests

Social sciences, languages, socializing, living in different places, my friends and family, reading, writing..

  • writing
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • beer
  • yoga
  • running
  • athlete
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • investing
  • etymology
  • languages
  • social science
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

One of my absolute favorite books is "What I Loved" by Siri Hustvedt - intelectually challenging and at the same time so emotionally engaging! Music wise I enjoy a lot of different styles; rock, pop, salsa, some electronica and jazzy stuff (if it's not too "pling plong"), African beats, etc.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Foz do Iguazu (Argentina/Brazil/Paraguay); the view brought tears to my eyes.

Having a lion right next to my car window in Tanzania - breathtaking!

Teach, Learn, Share

I would like to learn yoga and to rollerskate/blade backwards :)

I can do your head in with my social analysis of almost anything, or about grammar/etymology. I also make a really good tomato sauce that can be used as a basis for any dish!

Countries I’ve Visited

Senegal

Countries I’ve Lived In

Norway, Spain, Sweden, Tanzania, United States, Uruguay

Join Couchsurfing to see Ingrid’s full profile. It’s free!