Ingrid Hedman's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 95% response rate
  • Last login about 5 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ingrid’s full profile.

Overview

  • 9 references 8 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Swedish; learning French, Spanish
  • 52, Female
  • Member since 2017
  • Journalist/event producer
  • Anthropology journalism tourism
  • From Stockholm, Stockholm, Sweden
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am a freelance journalist with a masters degree in anthropology, Swedish by origin, but have been living, studying and working in countries like Spain, England, Denmark, Latvia, France and the US. My interest in meetings across cultures and borders led me to write my book "The whole world on my couch", about social travelling and couchsurfing. It is based on my experience of having 35 people from different countries staying at my couch during 6 months in 2011 - the most amazing adventure of my life! At the time I wasn´t able to travel very much, so I let the world come to me. Travelling to me is all about meeting new people which I did, without even having to leave my home :-)

In June 2024 it is time for me to do the opposite journey - I will be interrailing and couchsurfing through Eastern Europe with my 12 year old son Tim and friend/photographer Ylva. This trip will result in a blog as well as a book (both in English). The purpose of the book is to inspire other people (especially families) to travel environmentally friendly, on a low budget, exploring new cultures and connecting with local people.

We are planning to visit Germany (Berlin), Poland (Krakow), the Czech Republic (countryside), Hungary (Budapest), Slovenia (Ljubljana and countryside), and Croatia (Krk). Do you have a couch or bed to offer us? Would you be interested in participating in my book by being interviewed about your life and culture?

Please get in touch! I can´t wait to hear from you.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To explore new countries and cultures, to connect with new and interesting people, to learn about life in other places and teach my son about the beauty of the world outside our backyard.

Interests

  • writing
  • cooking
  • wine
  • yoga
  • reading
  • fishing
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • food
  • nature
  • trekking
  • horseriding

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hosting 35 people from all around the world during 2011. There were single travellers, couples, families...an unforgettable experience!

Teach, Learn, Share

I am really curious about the culture and lifestyle of the people we will visit, and I will be happy to share my own experiences with all of them (you!). I hope we can learn a lot from each other and be a mutual source of inspiration.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Cooking, conversations, laughter, knowledge about Scandinavian lifestyle and culture, a friendship that hopefully last much longer than our stay!

Countries I’ve Visited

Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, India, Indonesia, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malaysia, Monaco, Netherlands, Russian Federation, Spain, Thailand, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Denmark, England, France, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Ingrid’s full profile.

My Groups