Ingrid Solheim's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ingrid’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 6 References 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Norwegian; learning French, Spanish
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • I'm a med-school student taking a year of to do all the t...
  • No education listed
  • From Rosendal in the beautiful Hardangerfjord in Norway
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To live and learn, and to make new friends!

ABOUT ME

I'm a person with many ideas, though funnily never with enough time. My great joy in life, although sometimes it might be a little tiring, is my everlasting hunger for knowledge. Maybe I missed out in school or something - growing up in a tiny, remote place in Norway doesn't necessarily prepare you for the great cosmos. That is why I always have some ongoing project, whether it is to learn a new language, to read a series of books, or to go here or there. I'm someone energetic, curious, and maybe a little whimsical. I love to be the host, to make people comfortable an to create a homely feel. Social interaction is the basis for happiness, of that I'm sure. to try to understand why other people think and feel the way they do is a life long project that always will fascinate me.

PHILOSOPHY

I think one should appreciate the small things in life since they are the ones that contributes to your day-to-day happiness. This is essential, since I prefer to be jolly pretty much all the time. This might be things like enjoying the taste of a particular candy, the hug of a friend, a warm cup of coffee on a rainy day, or the fresh smell of autumn.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Right now I want to go travelling, before exams start out in November. I don't go couch-surfing to have a cheap place to sleep, I do it to make the most out of my trip. A place always leaves you with more if you've made friends there. But no worries, I'm very independent, so I don't need constant help and company :)

In Norway I live in a collocation of seven people, so I might not be able to host, and probably not more than one or two persons; however I would love to invite you over, go out in Bergen, advise you what to see and do, great hikes etc.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Earlier I've usually traveled with family, or to visit friends. So the couchsurfing concept is pretty new to me. But lately a lot of friends have recommended that I go travel this way. As I love getting to know people, and I have no problem doing the traveling part on my own (and at the same time being very capable of enjoying myself in my own company when need be) I think surfing fits me well.

Interests

I love my student life in Bergen which allows me to combine all my dearest interests; my family, my friends, my lively and inspiring collocation, the possibility of doing hikes and excursions, Bergen's social and cultural life and yet the opportunity to meet people from all over the world. I participate in the Bergen Buddy program that welcomes exchange students and I love to learn languages. I already speak french, but my next project is spanish (it takes some time, but if you're lucky enough to enjoy grammar you're pretty well set for it). I play some music, though low-scale; but I wish to buy my own electric piano sometime soon. As all Norwegians, I must go hiking (and in the winter skiing) on a regular basis, if not I both miss it and I feel guilty (though I'm not a peak person, I do it for the fun and the sun). Luckily , Bergen is the perfect location for outdoorsy stuff, except in terms of weather. Another interest is the one I have for literature, although I'm torn between the dry classics and the new more engaging works; unfortunately I'm a slow reader, so the pile next to my bed just keeps growing. I love to go out, to drink wine and eat chocolate.

  • humanities
  • books
  • literature
  • dancing
  • dining
  • chocolate
  • wine
  • coffee
  • drinking
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • piano
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • skiing
  • teaching
  • languages
  • study abroad

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

- The time I left my home to go study abroad and live on my own, realizing that what you make of your life solely depends on yourself.
- A hike in my home village, surrounded by mountain peaks, glaciers, fjords never ceases to amaze me.

Teach, Learn, Share

I might not be the best teacher in the world; but I try. I can teach some french, how to make Norwegian food, how to moonwalk (...probably also how NOT to dance), how to live on a budget in Norway, and much more. I want to learn just about anything!

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Croatia, Cuba, France, Greece, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Norway

Join Couchsurfing to see Ingrid’s full profile. It’s free!