Logo orange

Ingrid's Groups

Ingrid Hiller

London, United Kingdom

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 5 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ingrid's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 6 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, German; learning French, Spanish
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2007
  • I'm a HRIS Analyst. Sounds boring bu...
  • Organisational Psychology
  • From Vienna. But any place I stay for more than a day is home now.
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I like to country hop. Lived in Melbourne, London, Wellington, Vancouver and a few more places in between. Been missing the UK so I'm back, this time for an indefinite time.. Looking forward to meeting old and new friends :)

ABOUT ME

About me? Well, pi kinda sums it up quite nicely..
It's a constant - travelling is awesome but it's so much better living in a place for a while getting to know it properly. And once a person is a friend, they'll be so forever!
It's an irrational number - I'm actually a very rational and analytical person but when I'm having fun that can go straight out the window!
Its decimal representation never ends - trying new things is the best! Also some people might say my talking never ends but that's only true if the situation calls for it. Silence and I get along just fine, haha..
It never settles into a permanent repeating pattern - There's just too much to discover in life to not go out there and do it!
The digits appear to be randomly distributed... - The way I do things and the things I enjoy might be perceived as a bit random.
... although no proof of this has yet been discovered - There is always a plan behind it. Most of the time anyway!

Six years ago I was in the middle of the typial school-then-uni-then-work flow in Vienna when I met some amazing, crazy Ozzie peeps during a summer in Glasgow. They managed to instill some new ideas pretty quickly - with a lil' help of their friends Mr Jim Bean and Mr Jack Daniels.. Back I went to Vienna, finished my thesis as fast as pots of coffee would allow me and a week after graduating I was on a plane to Melbourne!

So the last few years kinda go like this 'Melbourne a year, London three years, 7 month stint travelling in South East Asia, got too impatient waiting for a work visa in Sydney so instead went to Wellington for year.' Sounds more chaotic than it was cause I'm also a massive nerd and love my HR/IT work so I've had a quite -what you might call- settled life in these places.

Wellington was rad but my heart (and over-analytical brain if I'm honest) has now decided to take me to Canada where I am going to settle for a while. I am absolutely psyched about this and cannot wait to get my teeth into the real Vancouver! Hoping I can meet some people who will help me achieve this :)

PHILOSOPHY

Some mistakes are too good to be only made once. Only joking.
Don't get me started on imaginary numbers..

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Have gone to meet ups, picknicks, pub crawls and the lots. Especially when just having arrived in a new city, it's often a lifesaver as the friendliness and openness of CS members are amazing. I've definitely met some interesting people and made some great friends along the way.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've not surfed very much as usually I am lucky enough to have friends in the places I go to but the few times I have couchsurfed it's been great.

Interests

I can get excited about more or less anything but am pretty useless at it all! Some of the things I've tried and tested are kickboxing, African dance, rafting, Spanish, yoga, ballet, scuba diving, classical dance, keyboard, running, figure skating, snowboarding and so on.
My long lasting passions however are live music, travelling, movies, my work (yeah I know, puke), trips by car, boat or motorbike, photography, anything to do with the sun and water and of course going out with friends for a drink or three.

Music, Movies & Books

I enjoy most movies but some of my favourites are City of God and Lord of War while my guilty pleasure is animated movies. I used to party to ragga dancehall, jungle and d'n'b but now I prefer going to live music events and am into indie rock and folky stuff. There's also some electro pop bands I like but I just love checking out new bands in general, the smaller the better..

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Driving a motorbike round the mountains in North Laos was rad and there's nothing better than the sea. If there's a few waves I can spend hours in the water giggling like a kid dreaming about learning to surf. Which after years is still top of my bucket list. Note to self.. need to learn this!

Teach, Learn, Share

Not an expert in much really but I'm always more than happy to help with anything as long as the effort counts more than the result.. Wouldn't mind painting a house come to think of it.

Join Couchsurfing to see Ingrid's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile