Inka Holopainen

Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Inka’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, Finnish; learning Indonesian, Russian, Spanish, Swedish
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Unemployed Master of Science
  • University of Helsinki, Geography
  • From Helsinki
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me


to visit all the countries in the world


Hoi, I'm a 26-year-old geography graduate and travelling is my thing (surprise?). I'm looking for a job at the moment, though to be honest, I'd rather take off and head somewhere as far as possible.

I like to travel in a proper backpacker style and as ecologically as possible (hooray for sustainable tourism, eh?). Recently I fell in love with the Philippines and before that I discovered that Slovenia might just be one of my favourite European countries.

I do bouldering and I love it. I also like rope climbing but only really the top-roping thing. One day, I promise, I'll take a lead climbing course.

On top of travelling and climbing I truly enjoy fishing! And other outdoorsy stuff too but fishing especially. I also have a thing for mountains, I think mountains are gorgeous (we don`t have any proper ones back home so I mostly admire them abroad) and the sea is pretty awesome as well.

What I often miss while travelling is a kitchen and the possibility to cook. I love cooking. Preferably for many people and with a lot of time. It works a stress relief for me.

I mostly escape Finland in the winter time (I do believe the winters there can be very fatal) but the summers are more than alright usually! Keep that in mind fellow travellers...Now that I have my wonderful boyfriend here too they are somewhat more bearable!


Peace and love.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


It's definitely cool to meet people who are interested in coming to Finland and I'll try my best to help as much as I possibly can so the travellers here would enjoy their time and get as much out of Finland as possible. And while abroad it's always great to meet people who actually live there (not only the other backpackers :)) Looking forward to meeting all of you mates, welcome to Finland!


First tried cs in Slovenia, it was excellent and after that we had loads of guests in Helsinki. You can check out the profile of Mika Kedrin, since all of the references are there (we used to have a profile together).



Music, Movies, and Books

I love MacGyver (is that good enough?)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Only one? F*ck it, here's plenty: Surfing in Bali, diving in Thailand, Honduras and Indonesia, island hopping and snorkelling with whalesharks in the Philippines, trekking the highest mountain in South East Asia (mt. Kinabalu that is), travelling through Russia by train (China too), camping in Mongolia, camel riding in Sahara, fishing in Morocco, paragliding in Venezuela, rafting and climbing the highest mountain in Costa Rica, trekking up to the sacred mountain (mt. Emei) in China, hiking the inca trail to Machu Picchu, hitchhiking from Slovenia to Croatia and through the whole coast all the way to Bosnia, travelling in Europe on a motorbike for a month, meeting loads and loads of cool people everywhere.

Teach, Learn, Share

I always try and pick up at least a couple of phrases of the local lingo while travelling. Especially numbers, they come in pretty handy more often than not I've noticed. So this is what I hope to learn. Dunno if there's anything I can teach anyone really but I do have a lot of travelling tips to give if someone needs em...

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Belgium, Belize, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, El Salvador, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Kosovo, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Mexico, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Venezuela, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Finland, Indonesia

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Inka’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups