Inneke Greyvenstein's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login almost 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Inneke’s full profile.

Overview

  • 4 references 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Afrikaans, English; learning Spanish
  • 43, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Clinical Psychologist
  • I hold three degrees in Psychology and currently completi...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To see people for who THEY are...not for what I might wrongly believe them to be.

ABOUT ME

My personality consists of vast contrasts - I can be both crazy and reserved, depending on what the context requires. I adapt easily. I can get along with almost any person of any background, race, culture, religion or age - thus, I'm non-judgmental..."come as you are" (as the song goes). I crave to learn about other people's minds, their way of thinking, doing and living. Culure fascinates me. I'm low maintenance and can be very happy with the simplest things. My friends will tell you that I'm sincere, loyal, dependable and that I make them feel calm and safe. They will also tell you that I have a wicked sense of humour and that my couch is their sanctuary. My family will tell you that its hard to get me out of your mind once I'm under your skin - personally - I would prefer to ignore the latter as they make me sound like a strange disease or a tactile hallucination.

PHILOSOPHY

If you have a 'why' to live for...you can bear with almost any 'how'. - Viktor Frankl.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I would like to offer my couch (spare bed) for those who want to learn about South Africa and its people. I have a separate bedroom with a single bed. Terms of stay, i.e., food, cleaning etc. is always negotiable. I would also like to be a guest (a pleasent one).

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have both hosted and surfed. Did not have very pleasant experiences with over night surfing!!

But have had some great short social exchanges with CS members.
I have hosted some wonderful guests.

Interests

Art - beautiful or strange - in any form, moves me. I love long conversations and comfortable silences equally. I love browsing small unique spots for knik- knacks and interesting conversations. I read many different genres and spend my working life pulling rabits out of hats - I am a psychologist by profession but do not conform to any stereotyped image thereof. I like to visit museums, art galleries and exhibitions of all kinds. I try to socialize and spend the odd night partying it up until dawn but I'm just as happy to go lie in a park under a tree reading poetry.

Music, Movies, and Books

I enjoy comedies with a dry sense of humour as well as dramas(e.g., Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind; Amelie; One flew over the cuckoo's nest; La vida es bella; A beautiful mind; Crazy beautiful; Bee Season). I read many different genres but love poetry and philosophy particularly (e.g., Kahlil Gibran; Paulo Coelho; Pablo Neruda; Rumi; Anais Nin). I like a wide variety of music (e.g., REM; Live; U2; Goa trance; tribal music; hip-hop; latin misic; reggae; etc etc) .

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Riding on a massive African elephant and getting a "kiss" from his brother. Feeding a Kudu (very large antelope)from my hand as well as holding a lion cub. Listening to a live reading by one of my favourite poets. Standing under the rush of cold water from a cascading waterfall. Dancing my first Salsa at a genuine Cuban party. Learning to walk (again) at the age of 21.

Teach, Learn, Share

Each person has their own history they bring to any encounter, as well as their future hopes and dreams. I would like to learn from both these aspects through exchange of thoughts, ideas and experiences.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Botswana, Denmark, Germany, Namibia, Netherlands, South Africa, Sweden, Tanzania

Countries I’ve Lived In

South Africa

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Inneke’s full profile.