Hannah & Kit Galliosborn's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Hannah & Kit’s full profile.

Overview

  • 37 references 23 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Malay; learning Spanish
  • 34, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • K = Physician & H - Integrative Processing Technique...
  • H - Institute of Healing Arts, K - Medical School
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

This is a profile for both my husband, Kit and I. We currently live in LA, CA with our 4 year-old boy, and almost 2 year-old girl. We grew up in Salt Lake City, Utah, where we met in high school. We first connected over the arts. We were married more than a decade later, and last year moved coast to coast from DC to CA.

I've spent several years documenting and writing about various spiritual and traditional practices and practitioners around the world.

These days I spend most of my time mothering a 2 incredible children, working with healing arts clients primarily over the phone, and photography--while Kit does his medical residency.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I started CSurfing in Southeast Asia during the summer of 2011. I've surfed all around the US and Turkey in 2012 and 2013. I met up with CS friends in South America in 2014, and Kit and I CSed spring and summer 2016 and met many awesome people on a trip back to Asia. We are currently not in a situation where we can host, but are open to meeting up, or answering questions. Our travel time is limited these days for several reason, including the importance to us in doing out part to not spread COVID during this time, but have found ways to get out safely, and keep that part of ourselves alive.

Interests

For fun I am a singer and a gardener, and Kit trail runs. Together we enjoy anything outdoors, many musical genres, and of course travel. We are both members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons/LDS) and enjoy discussions on spirituality, history, and alternative and modern medicine. Though we are both artists professionally, photography, printmaking and other visual arts are definitely in the 'for fun' category too. At least one of my cameras is always within reach.

Truthfully, our children are the most interesting thing in our lives. It blows my mind watching them grow. None of my past experience came close to how much I love this adventure, though to some my current lifestyle may seem less exciting than it used to be.

Kit loves learning new languages, such as Arabic, Armenian, Japanese, Spanish, Malay, Russian and Tamil to name a few. He's a long distance trail runner with an interest in maps, installation art, and medicine.

Oh... and we have a special relationship with spicy food. Bring on the heat! We recently started making out own hot sauces from peppers and spices from my garden.

  • animals
  • writing
  • singing
  • photography
  • dancing
  • dining
  • running
  • traveling
  • blogging
  • music
  • trail running
  • business
  • cartography
  • freelancing
  • history
  • languages
  • medicine
  • religion
  • mountains
  • art
  • sustainability
  • family
  • alternative medicine
  • healing arts
  • integrated medicine

Music, Movies, and Books

Many, let's meet and talk about them.

I love reading and enjoy a good film, but music has always been a huge part of my life. I was born into a musical family, and sung with several groups from funk to Celtic, and Folk to Opera. Kit and my listening tastes are as varied. Share new music with us!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The most amazing thing I've done is create our children, and giving birth to them in our home.

One specific thing that from my travels that comes to mind is an all night harvest ritual with a Mumbaki shaman of an Ifugao tribe in the Philippines.

I asked Kit what the most amazing thing he has done was, and he immediately responded, "Married the Love of my life." He gets points for that, I have to brag a little for him. Kit has run 50 miles (80 km) in a trail ultra-marathon up and down Utah's Northern mountains.

Teach, Learn, Share

We are ready to learn from anyone, or share with anyone.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Armenia, Belgium, Canada, England, France, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, Peru, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Thailand, Turkey, United States, Uruguay

Countries I’ve Lived In

Malaysia, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Hannah & Kit’s full profile.

My Groups