Logo orange

Marta Auge

New York, NY, United States

Not Accepting Guests

100% response rate · Last login 5 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Marta's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 12 Positive References1 Neutral
  • Fluent in Catalan, Valencian, Spanish; learning English
  • 30, Other
  • Member since 2008
  • Survivor
  • Journalism, Photography, Culture Man...
  • From Barcelona - Spain
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Never ending traveler

ABOUT ME

Hello! I'm Marta, a little Hobbit from the Shire of Spain.

I'm a Journalist who, unable to find a decent job in Spain, decided to move to the United States to learn some English but ended living here more time that I was initially expecting.

And here I am, living in New York with my boyfriend and enjoying our new lives in the big apple. He is a talented interactive designer working in a small but cool studio and I'm photographer with a journalism degree who is trying to be a culture manager. So most of the time I'm fighting to find the way to fit all of that together :D

We are a friendly and easy going couple. People use to make fun about how opposite we are, and that's true: Adrià is a calm guy and sometimes a bit shy who enjoys chilling out at home with his own things. I'm shy too, but I am also this kind of person that loves to talk non-stop and loves being all the day doing something in the street. But together, we are just the right balance and we love getting out of the city and looking for adventures as often as we can ;)

visited 15 states (30%)Create your own visited map of The United States or Triposo world travel guide for Android

PHILOSOPHY

I have no philosophy. I live every day as best I can.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

We have hosted some people in Barcelona. Right now we are living in a really tiny place with no extra space for guests, but as soon as we move, we will host a lot of people again! We also have participated as a guests in our trips around Europe and the US as well as attended many couchsurfing meetings and activities in New York.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

So far I have hosted about 10 people and I can say that every time has been very pleasant experiences that we will never forget. We enjoyed as well being hosted by awesome people that offered us their places and shared with us the trips that we made.

Interests

I love music. There's someone in my life who never stops telling me that I just like the music of other decades and that's partly true. I specially like rockabilly, but also classic punk, country and everything that sounds good (or not, because garage music is so cool too!). Adrià is really into design, comic books, videogames and any kind of visual culture. We both share the passion for the arts, that in one way or other are integrated in our lives.

Music, Movies & Books

We like rock music, especially from the 60s and 70s rock, the '70s. We also like indie music, and we like a lot of bands from our country that we will lovely will share with you if you have curiosity.

Adria is a better reader than me, but I'm constantly fighting against my laziness to read more. My favorite book is Demian, from Herman Hesse. Adria's best lecture is Sandman, a comic book from Neil Gaiman.

We are a movie enthusiast and we use to go weekly to the movies when there are a good movie listing in the theater and also a good income in our pockets.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Since I went to United States I started being a fan of road trips. When we have some days off, we just rent a car and drive for hours through the amazing landscapes that United States have to offer.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you how to cook my own style dishes. Some spanish food but also some nowhere food.

I would love to learn anything that you want to share with me, specially about your lifestyle and culture :D

Countries I've Visited

Andorra, Croatia, France, Gambia, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Spain, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Marta's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile